User Types

User Types determine how much access a User has within KaiNexus.

What is a User Type?

User Types work in conjunction with System Roles to determine how much access a User has within KaiNexus. While System Roles allow for nuanced permissions specific to your Workflows, Templates, Locations, etc., User Types create unique experiences when signing into the system.

  • When Superusers, General Users, and Wallboard Users log in to KaiNexus, they are taken to their Default Board.
  • When Capture Users log in, they are taken to a List of Items for which they are on the Team of the Item.
  • Kiosk Users don't see Boards or Lists; instead, they can only submit an idea!
  • Offline, Setup, and Inactive Users are unable to log in to KaiNexus.

What are the available User Types?

KaiNexus offers the following eight User Types:

Superuser

Superusers are your Continuous Improvement (CI) Coaches and KaiNexus Champions. They are responsible for working with the KaiNexus team to configure, maintain, and update the system to utilize enhancements. Because they are fully functional within KaiNexus, their views of the system will be detailed with the ability to customize what they have access to.

General

General Users are people that will manage work in KaiNexus. They are your most common User Type and will need to have access to a computer or mobile device at work. Their permissions are highly configurable at the Role level, enabling you to have advanced General Users with advanced System Role permissions, while basic General Users have more limited, simplified views.

Capture

Capture Users experience in KaiNexus focuses on allowing these Users to purely submit Items into the system and keep track of the progress of just their Items.

Wallboard

Wallboard Users, available with the Wallboard Module, are essentially “Read-Only” users. This is ideal for situations where you want to leave one account signed into KaiNexus all day in a public location—such as displaying various Boards at a Kiosk—but don’t want people making updates and changes to the system.

Kiosk

Kiosk Users, available with the Kiosk Module, are solely focused on submitting Items within the system. The Kiosk Module enables Users to easily submit select Templates from a kiosk without having to log into KaiNexus. This is a great way to remove technical barriers and allow more people to participate in continuous improvement, regardless of whether or not they use a computer in their daily work.

Offline

Offline Users are typically used as a placeholder for Users who will never need to sign into the system but still would like to be associated with the improvement work they participated in that is being captured within KaiNexus.

Setup

Setup Users are often in this type temporarily during the setup process. They are primarily used as a way to have a record of their account in the system before you are ready to give them access to sign in.

Inactive

Inactive Users are typically used for a User that no longer has access to KaiNexus or is no longer with your organization. Inactivating a User allows you to maintain a record of the improvement work they participated in but prevents them from accessing the system again.

What level of access does each User Type grant?

Superuser

Superusers can:

  • Sign into the system via a desktop, the mobile app, and kiosk.
  • Have complete access as determined by their permissions dictated within their Role(s).
  • View, work on, and be assigned to work on any Item within the system in which their Roles give them the permission to do so.
  • Choose to receive in-app and/or email notifications.
  • By default, create their own Boards and access any Boards they have permission to see. They can also edit any Cards or Boards if they have permission to do so.
  • Create any Items for which they have the correct Roles.

General

  • By default, their Navigation Bar is removed, however, with the correct Role permissions, they have the ability to access those areas in the system.
  • Can sign in to the system via a desktop, the mobile app, and kiosk.
  • Can view, work on, and be assigned to work on any Item within the system in which their Roles give them the permission to do so.
  • Can create any Items for which they have the correct Roles.
  • By default, they cannot create their own Boards, unless their Roles give them the permission to do so. They cannot edit any Cards or Boards, unless given permission to do so.
  • Can only access certain Boards they have permission to see. Reach out to your Customer Experience Lead for help getting this set up correctly.
  • Cannot save custom Lists unless they have permission to do so.
  • Cannot save custom People Lists unless they have permission to do so.
  • Cannot view/access Reports unless they have permissions to do so.
  • Can only be granted certain Roles. Reach out to your Customer Experience Lead for help getting this set up correctly.

Capture

  • Can sign into the system via a desktop, the mobile app, and kiosk.
  • Upon logging in, they are immediately taken to a List of their authored Items rather than a Board.
  • Can access their User Profile, edit their password, and change their profile picture.
  • Cannot access any Boards.
  • Cannot access any Lists (apart from the List of their own authored Items).
  • Can Search for and view any other Items in the system that they have permission to see.
  • Will receive in-app notifications (accessible in the Notifications window), however, they will not be able to customize their notification preferences.
  • Can submit New Items via Email.
  • Cannot edit the details of any Items.
  • Can comment on Items that they have access to.

Wallboard

  • Sign in to the system via a desktop and kiosk only.
  • By default, their left navigation bar is removed, but they can still use the search bar to look for any Items they have permission to access.
  • Cannot access the User Profile menu at the top right corner of the page - that means the Wallboard cannot be logged out of the system by a passerby.
  • Cannot submit anything or make any changes to existing Items, including Editing in any form, Liking, Acknowledging, Bookmarking, or Commenting.
  • Cannot be part of the Team of any Item, even as a Follower.
  • When creating a Wallboard User, their “User Profiles” have limited options - they can only be given a Username, First and Last Name, Physical Location, Network Location(s), and Role(s). They also cannot be awarded - manually or automatically - any Badges.
  • Cannot have an email address, so they will not get any Email notifications. They also will not see any in-app notifications or have a Notifications window.
  • Cannot edit or alter Cards or Boards in any way apart from refreshing them.
  • Cannot download any Files or share any Items.
  • Cannot create or own Boards, and cannot edit or clone Cards.
  • Cannot save Custom Lists.
  • Can only be granted certain Roles. Reach out to your Customer Experience Lead for help getting this set up correctly.
  • Can only access certain Boards they have permission to see. Reach out to your Customer Experience Lead for help getting this set up correctly.

Kiosk


  • Can sign in to the system via a desktop and kiosk only.
  • Can only access the submission screen.
  • Cannot access any other part of the system.
  • There are unlimited concurrent sessions per Kiosk User - meaning you can have however many kiosks you need running at once with just a single Kiosk User.
  • A Kiosk User’s session will not time out. To sign out, you will need to manually sign out of the system.
  • Cannot be added to the Team of any Item. When another User submits an Item via the Kiosk, they will be listed as the Author on the Item, not the Kiosk User.

Offline


  • Cannot log into the system at all.
  • Will not receive any emails from KaiNexus.
  • Can be added to the Team of any Item.
  • Will be included in Reports.

Setup


  • Cannot log into the system at all.
  • Will not receive any emails from KaiNexus.
  • Can be added to the Team of any Item. This allows customers to import new Items with Setup Users on the Team so that once those Users are activated (via switching them to Superuser, General, or Capture Users) they are already on the Team of those Items.
  • Capture Users will not be included in Reports.

Inactive



Inactive Users are typically used for a User that no longer has access to KaiNexus or is no longer with your organization. Inactivating a User allows you to maintain a record of the improvement work they participated in, but prevents them from accessing the system again. (Similar to Setup Users) They:

  • Cannot log into the system at all.
  • Will not receive any emails from KaiNexus.
  • Cannot be added to the Team of any Item. However, if they were originally a part of the Team of an Item then they will remain on the Team until they are removed in some way.