Edit a Board

Who can edit an existing Board?

  • A Board's Owner can edit the Board's Title, Description, Layout, Rank, Location Filter, Private/Public status, Nesting Position, Restricted Viewing, Editor(s), Subscribers, and Cards.
  • Anyone with a System Role that grants them the Board Administrator permission can edit the same aspects of a Board as the Board Owner if the Board is in a Network Location they can access.
  • A Board's Editor(s) can edit the Cards.

How do I edit an existing Board?

Open the Board with which you want to work, then:

  • Click the Actions button in the top right corner of the Board.
  • In the resulting drop-down menu, select Edit Board.

What edits can I make to a Board?

The Edit Board window has information organized into three categories: General Info, Layout, and Public.

General Info

  • Title: Edit the Board's name in the "Title" field.
  • Description (optional): Edit the optional description. The description will appear when users hover over the Board's name in the Board picker.
  • Rank (optional): Edit the Board's optional rank. The rank helps determine the order in which Boards appear in the Board picker.
    • Private Boards are at the top of the list and public Boards at the bottom.
    • Within those subsets, Boards with a lower rank (e.g. 1) will be towards the top and those with higher ranks (e.g. 10) will be towards the bottom.
    • If multiple Boards share the same rank, they appear in alphabetical order relative to each other. 
  • Nest Under (optional): Boards can be nested in a folder structure. Select the Board under which you would like to nest this Board in the "Nest Under" field or leave it blank if this should be a top-level Board.
  • Owner: By default, the User who created the Board is the Owner of the Board. To edit the Owner, click into this field to search for a User to become the new Owner of the Board.
    • There can only be one Owner per Board. 

Layout

  • Sections: Select the number of Sections that will appear on your Board. Your Board can have a maximum of five Sections.
  • Section Layout: Edit the Layout for each Section. You can pick between:
    • One Column - The column will take up the full width of the Board.
    • Two Columns (½ , ½) - Each column will take up half the Board.
    • Two Columns (⅓ , ⅔) - The left column will only take up one-third of the Board; the right column will cover the remaining two-thirds.
    • Two Columns (⅔ , ⅓) - The left columns will take up two-thirds of the Board; the left column will only cover the remaining one-third.
    • Three Columns (⅓ , ⅓ , ⅓) - Each column will take up one-third of the Board.
    • Three Columns (¼ , ¼ , ½) - The left column will take up one-fourth of the Board, the middle column will take up one-fourth of the Board, and the right column will take up one half of the Board.
    • Three Columns (¼ , ½ , ¼) - The left column will take up one-fourth of the Board, the middle column will take up one-half of the Board, and the right column will take up one-fourth of the Board.
    • Three Columns (½ , ¼ , ¼) - The left column will take up one-half of the Board, the middle column will take up one-fourth of the Board, and the right column will take up one-fourth of the Board.
    • Four Columns - Each column will take up ¼ of the Board.
    • Five Columns - Each column will take up ⅕ of the Board
    • Six Columns - Each column will take up ⅙ of the Board.
  • Show Location Filter: Check "Show Location Filter" if you want to be able to filter the entire Board by Location. Doing so will add a Network diagram to the left side of the Board; clicking any of those Locations will filter every Card by that Location.
    • Once this box is checked, two more options will appear:
      • Enter the Location(s) to which the Location filter will initially default in the "Default Location(s)" field.
      • Check the box next to "Location & Below" to include items and people from Locations nested under the filtering Location.
  • Show Board Filter: Check the "Show Board Filter" box to add a global filter option to the Board that allows Users to filter every Item-based Card (such as Item List Cards, Item Curve Report Cards, Impact Report Cards, and Attribute Summary Report Cards) on a Board at once.
    • Once this box is checked, a filter icon - Advanced Filters (none applied) - will appear. Click this option if you want to add default filters to the Board that will be automatically applied every time a User views the Board.
      • In the resulting window, add any filters you’d like to apply to the Board, then click Save & Apply.

Share

Two Line OfieNOTE: If you do not have a System Role that grants you the Board Administrator advanced permission, you will be unable to make this Board private or make use of the following settings.

  • Share: Check Share to make the Board accessible to other Users; leave it unchecked if you want to be the only User who can access it.
    • Once this box is checked, more options will appear:
      • Board User: Check the box next to "Board User" to allow this Board to be seen by Wallboard Users.
      • Restrict Viewing to: Public Boards are visible to the entire organization unless you restrict their visibility. To limit the visibility of this Board to specific people, everyone with a certain Role, or everyone in a Network Location, enter those qualifiers in the "Restrict Viewing to" field.
        • NOTE: Board Administrators that can edit any Board can access any public Board so long as they have a direct link to it, regardless of whether they're included in this field.
      • Editor(s): Add people to the "Editor(s)" if you want them to be able to edit Cards on the Board, even if they don't have the Board Administrator permission. 
        • NOTE: Board Administrators that can edit any Board can still edit this Board regardless of whether they're included in this field.
      • Subscriber(s): Add people to the "Subscriber(s)" if you want a link to the Board to be included in each of their subscription emails. You can add individuals by name or add everyone with a certain Role or everyone in a certain Location.
        • People you subscribe can unsubscribe themselves at any time.
      • Board Location(s): Add Network Locations if you want Users with the Board Administrator permission in those Locations to have the ability to edit this Board.
        • By default, this is tagged with the Board Owner’s Network Location(s).

How do I move Cards on a Board?

There are two ways to move a Card's location on a Board.

The first way is to:

  • Click and hold the Card Header.
  • Drag and drop it in the desired spot on the Board.

Two Line OfieNOTE: If you're moving the Card into a column occupied by other Cards, all Cards in that column will move down one space to make room for it.


The second way is to: 

  • Click the ellipses icon in the top right corner of the Card.
  • In the resulting drop-down menu, hover over Layout to open a sub-menu of options.
  • In the resulting drop-down menu, you can select:
    • Move Down to move the Card down one position.
    • Move Up to move the Card up one position.
    • Move Right to move the Card one column to the right. It will be moved to the bottom position of that column.
    • Move Left to move the Card one column to the left. It will be moved to the bottom position of that column.

Recommended Reading