1. Help Center
  2. Admin
  3. Organization > Level Types

What is a Level Type?

Customize the levels that organize your Network Locations and prioritize Location search results.

Network Locations are groups of Users, work units, or levels in an organization, while a Level Type is a means of categorizing those Locations. The Level Type determines the sort order of a list of Locations.

Some common examples of Level Types include departments, workgroups, divisions, and factories.

Whenever you see a list of Locations in KaiNexus - such as the Network admin page, the Location picker in the Reports section, etc. - they are arranged according to their Level Type. If you want to control the order in which these Level Types are displayed - such as putting the broadest groups first and the smaller teams last - you will need to order them on the Level Types admin page.

How do I order my Level Types?

  • Navigate to Admin > Organization > Level Types
  • Click and hold the Level Type you want to move.
  • Drag and drop it in the correct position on the list of Level Types.

Level Types

Create a Level Type

  • Navigate to Admin > Organization > Level Types
  • Select + Create Level Type in the top-right corner.
  • In the Create Level Type window, enter information for: 

    • Name: Enter the name of this Level Type in the "Name" field. Your organization cannot have multiple Level Types with the same name.
    • Description (optional)
    • Icon: Pick an icon to represent this Level Type.
    • Icon Code: Copy and paste an icon code from fontawesome. 
    • Color: Select a color to represent this Level Type. You’re welcome to reuse an icon for multiple Level Types, but we recommend assigning different colors for each instance of that icon to make scanning a list of Level Types easier.
  • Select Save to create your new Level Type. 

Edit a Level Type

  • Navigate to Admin > Organization > Level Types
  • Hover over the Level Type until it's highlighted blue.
  • Select the pencil icon to edit that Level Type.
  • Select Save

Delete a Level Type

If you delete a Level Type that has never been assigned to a Location, there will be no effect on your organization’s Network.

But what happens to a Location if you delete its Level Type? The Location will remain in place in the Network, with no impact on the users or items affiliated with it. The only effect will be that that Location will lose its distinguishing icon. You can, of course, select a new Level Type for any affected Locations.

  • Navigate to Admin > Organization > Level Types
  • Hover over the Level Type until it's highlighted blue.
  • Select the x icon to delete that Level Type.
  • In the resulting Delete window, select Delete.