Add a time tracking estimate or log work

With Time Tracking, you have the ability to record the time you’ve spent working on an Improvement in KaiNexus.

NOTE: Time Tracking must be enabled for each template. Reach out to your Customer Experience Lead to take advantage of this feature.

When Time Tracking is enabled for a template, a new “Time Tracking” section will be added to each item of that type. It will typically be placed under the “Dates” section, but if the template has a customized layout, it will be added to the “Other” tab and may be added anywhere on the primary tab depending on how the template was configured.

 

Who can add time or edit or delete existing work logs?

Anyone who can add files or links to the Improvement. That includes the:

  • Author

  • Assigner

  • Responsible Person

  • Collaborators

  • Anyone who can edit the Improvement’s parent

  • Anyone who has the “Assign” or “Edit” permission for Improvements in the relevant Locations

NOTE: Time tracking can not be updated on a completed Improvement without first reopening it.

 

How do I add an estimate?

Open the Improvement with which you want to work, then:

  • Click  in the top right corner of the page

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click

 

In the resulting window:

  • Enter your estimate of the time needed in the “Amount” field

  • Select the unit of time - choose between hours and minutes

  • Click

 

How do I update the estimate?

Once you've added an initial estimate, you can update the estimate. To do so, open the Improvement with which you want to work, then:

  • Click  in the top right corner of the page

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click

 

In the resulting window:

  • You can change the original estimate and its unit of measurement if necessary

  • You can also update the estimate by updating the information under “Remaining Time Needed.” Doing so will add a new estimate based on the value entered, although the old estimate will still be visible

  • Click

 

How do I log work?

Open the Improvement with which you want to work, then:

  • Click  in the top right corner of the page

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click

 

In the resulting window:

  • Select the name of the person who did the work in the “Person” drop-down

  • Enter the amount of time spent in the “Amount” field and the unit of time - hours or minutes

  • Enter the date and time on which work began in the “Work Log Date” field

  • (**Optional**) Enter a description of the work done in the “Description” field

  • Click

 

How do I view, edit, or delete logged work?

Open the Improvement with which you want to work, then click  in the top right corner of the “Time Tracking” section.


In the resulting window:

  • You’ll see every work entry that has been logged so far

  • Click  in the top right corner of the window to update the estimate

  • Click  in the top right corner of the window to log work

  • Hover over the entry you want to edit so that it is highlighted blue, then click  to its right

  • Hover over the entry you want to delete, then click  to its right

NOTE: Once the Improvement has been completed, you will be unable to edit the estimate, log work, or edit or delete any Time Tracking entries.