Share an Item List

You can create an Item List for other Users and share it with them using the Share function on the List. This guide introduces List sharing and covers the Requirements for sharing Lists, how to Share a List, and how to Access and Save a Shared List.

Introduction

Using the Share function on Item Lists, you can create an Item List for a particular User, Location, or System Role to View or Edit, and can even transfer Ownership of the List to another User. This is helpful for KaiNexus Champions and CI Coaches to create Lists for other Users and share them with those Users. 

Example Use Cases

  • Sharing Tasks for your team to work on
  • Giving executives easy access to frequently updated information
  • Admins creating standard Lists for all Frontline Users 

Requirements

The following conditions must be met before you can Share an Item List:

Limitations

  • Only General User Types can share Lists and view shared Lists (not Capture Users, Kiosk, or Wallboard).
  • The All Items List cannot be shared. 
  • Item Lists must be saved before they can be shared.
    • Selecting the Share icon on a List with no unsaved changes will take you directly to the Share screen.
    • Selecting Share on a List with unsaved changes will display a window stating “You have unsaved changes applied to this List. Please Save or Discard these changes before proceeding.”

      This "unsaved changes" window displays options to Save, Discard, or Cancel.
      • Selecting Save saves any changes that have been made to the List since it was last saved, and moves on to the Share window.
      • Selecting Discard takes you directly to the Share window. When you select Share in the resulting Share window, any changes that have been made to the List since it was last saved will be discarded and the List will refresh.
      • Selecting Cancel closes the window and takes you back to your List with any unsaved changes still applied.

Permissions

  • Share is only available to Users with Owner or Editor permissions to the List, and they must have a System Role that grants them the Share Item Lists permission.
  • Only users with the ability to Create Item Lists can be granted the Share Item List Permission.
  • Selecting the Create Item Lists permission in the System Roles edit screen displays the Share Item List option nested below it, which you can then select to grant List Sharing permission to that Role.

Share a List

Follow the steps below to Share an Item List:

  1. In the Items section, navigate to the Item List you want to Share and select the Share icon (see Figure 1) located directly to the right-hand side of the List Name. The Share icon is gray if the Item List has not been shared, and it turns blue to show the List has been shared.


share-icon-location-1
Figure 1: Share icon Location


Selecting the Share icon displays the Share Item List window (see Figure 2), containing an Owner dropdown menu at the top, with a Share checkbox below it. You can select a new List Owner from the Owner dropdown menu if you need to. The Owner can fully Edit the List and is typically the person who originally created it.

PRO TIP: Selecting another User as the Owner of a List causes that List to no longer show under your My Lists area. Transferring List Ownership is helpful to Users who are creating multiple Lists for other Users and don’t want to clutter their own List area. 

 


share-item-list-windowFigure 2: Share Item List window


2.   In the Share Item List window, select the Share checkbox. Two dropdown menus, labeled Viewer(s) and Editor(s), appear below the checkbox.

3.   Select your desired Viewers and Editors (Locations, System Roles, or specific Users) from their respective dropdown menus and select the Save button. Selecting Save shares the Item List with the selected Viewers and Editors.

  • Viewer(s): Viewers have read-only access to this List. Viewers can be defined as individuals, Network Locations, and/or System Roles.
  • Editor(s): Editors have the same editing capabilities as the Owner. Only individuals can be added as Editors.
  • With Share checked, at least one Viewer or Editor will be required.

NOTE: If only an Editor is defined, the system automatically adds the Editor as a Viewer as well.

  • Selecting the Share icon on a List with no unsaved changes will take you directly to the Share screen.
  • Selecting Share on a List with unsaved changes will result in a window saying “You have unsaved changes applied to this List. Please Save or Discard these changes before proceeding.” 

    This "unsaved changes" window displays options to Save, Discard, or Cancel.
    • Selecting Save will save any changes that have been made to the List since it was last saved, and will move on to the Share window.
    • Selecting Discard takes you directly to the Share window. When you select Share in the resulting Share window, any changes that have been made to the List since it was last saved will be discarded and the list will refresh.
    • Selecting Cancel closes the window and takes you back to your List with any unsaved changes still applied.

Access a Shared List

You can access shared Lists directly from your Items section. A newly-shared List is indicated in your Items section by a blue notification dot (see Figure 3). Hovering over your Items section also displays a tooltip informing you of the new Shared List. The blue dot and tooltip disappear once you have navigated to your new List. 

shared-list-blue-dot
Figure 3: Notification Dot and Tooltip

  • When a List is shared with someone, that User will be notified by email about their new List and what permission they have on it (Owner, Editor, or Viewer). 
  • You can Pin a Shared List in the same way that you can Pin any other Item List.
  • Lists that have been Pinned will be indented under the corresponding My Lists and Shared Lists sections.

Viewer Access to Shared Lists

  • When you are the Viewer of a Shared Item List, clicking on that List will open an Item List popup window with limited available actions (Save List as, Bulk Change, Impact, Export, Refresh).  
  • For Viewers, the Subscribe/Edit/Delete actions are not available on Shared Lists.

IMPORTANT: Viewers have the ability to apply filter, column, and view changes to a Shared List, but these changes will only be temporary for the current session; if a Viewer leaves and returns to the List, their changes will be reverted to the original settings of the Shared List.


Save a Shared List

As an Editor/Owner of a List, you get the standard options under Edited, including Save List as

Selecting Save List as displays a window prompting you to name the List, and will create a new copy of the List. 

NOTE: Save List as does not copy over the Share settings. It changes the Owner to whomever saved the new list; the Share checkbox is unchecked, and no Editors/Viewers are defined.