Delete an Item

Learn how to permanently remove Items from KaiNexus.

Two Line OfieNOTE: Only Users with a System Role that grants the Delete permission will be able to perform the functions on this support page.

Before you start

It's possible to delete an Item in KaiNexus, but we don't always recommend it since you might lose important data about your improvement work. Here are some things to know before you delete an Item:

  • Export your Items before you perform any bulk actions. Anything you delete from your system is permanently removed and can't be recovered.
  • If you need to organize your Items but don’t want to lose any data, we recommend you archive Items rather than delete them. To learn more, check out Archive or Unarchive an Item.

  • You can also resolve an Item with "No Change" or defer the Item to maintain its record within KaiNexus if necessary.

What happens to deleted Items?

  • The deleted Item is permanently removed from KaiNexus and cannot be recovered. Any associated Comments, Files, and Links are also deleted.
  • Upon deletion, Users with opt-in notifications for deleted Items will be immediately notified that the Item has been deleted. No new notifications, in-app or email, will be generated from the Item.
  • The deleted Item cannot be searched for in the Search Bar.
  • The deleted Item will be excluded from all Reports.
  • The deleted Item cannot be associated with other Items. Any Items that were nested under the deleted Item will be un-nested.

Who can delete an Item?

In order to delete an Item, you must first have a System Role that grants the Delete permission. This permission can be customized based on Network Location and Template type. For example, you can use a System Role to specify that a User can only delete Items created with the Project Template in their own Network Location. If you have permission to delete an Item, 

How can I delete an Item?

Sometimes, you may decide it's necessary to completely delete an Item. If you're certain you want to permanently delete your Item, you can do so from an Item List or from within the Item itself. To delete multiple Items at once, you can use the Bulk Change feature in an Item List.

Delete a Single Item

Open the Item you wish to delete, then:

  • Click the Actions button in the top right corner of the Item page.
  • In the resulting drop-down menu, select Delete.

In the resulting window:

  • Enter a reason for deleting the Item.
  • If this Item has one or more upstream or downstream dependencies, you will see a confirmation checkbox that reads “I understand existing dependencies will be removed.” Check this box.
  • (**Optional**) If this Improvement has any Items nested underneath that you also wish to delete, check the box next to “Delete nested items”.
  • NOTE: Only the first 100 nested Items will be deleted.
  • Select how many levels down within the nested Items you want to delete.
  • Selecting “One Level” will only delete the Items that are directly nested under the Item you are currently deleting.
  • Selecting “All Levels” will delete all of the nested Items, several levels deep, that are nested under the Item you are currently deleting.
  • Select whether you want to delete all types of nested Items or not.
    • Selecting “Yes” will delete all types of nested Items under this Item, like Tasks or Charts.
    • Selecting “No” will give you the option to check boxes next to the types of nested Items you want to delete.
  • Select whether you want to delete all types of nested Items or not within the subsequent levels of this Improvement.
    • Selecting “Yes” will delete all types of nested Items under Items that are nested beneath this Improvement, like Tasks or Charts.
    • Selecting “No” will give you the option to check boxes next to the types of nested Items you want to delete.
  • Check the box next to “I understand this cannot be undone.”
  • When you’re ready, click Delete.

Two Line OfieCAUTION: When you delete an Item, the Item is permanently removed from KaiNexus and cannot be recovered. We highly recommend you either close out the Item with “No Change”, archive the Item, or defer the Item to maintain its record within KaiNexus if necessary.