Archive or Unarchive an Item

Archiving an Item keeps your system clear of clutter and excludes that Item from Reports.

If you have Items in KaiNexus that are not relevant to your ongoing projects and active improvement work but you still want them to be recorded and tracked without affecting your current workflow, you can archive them. This provides a less permanent way to remove no longer relevant Items from the system without deleting them.

When an Item is archived:

  • It will remain accessible in the system for future reference and can be unarchived at any time.
  • Its dependencies, votes, and current nesting structure will be unaffected.
  • It is no longer editable by any user, regardless of their system role permissions. Its details, team, and dates cannot be changed, files and links can not be added or removed, comments cannot be added, edited, or deleted, and no new Items can be nested beneath it.
  • It will not appear in any search results.
  • It will no longer generate any notifications or emails.
  • It will not appear in Item Lists by default, but Item Lists can be configured to include archived items.
  • It will be excluded from all Reports.

Who can Archive or Unarchive an Item?

  • Anyone with the "Edit" permissions for Items in the Item's Location(s)
  • Anyone on the Item's Team except for Followers and Participants.

Two Line OfieFor more information on Team Roles (like Authors, Facilitators, Participants, and more!) check out this article.

How do I Archive an Item?

Open the Item you want to Archive, then:

  • Click Actions in the top right corner of the Item.
  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click Archive.
  • In the resulting window:
    • Enter a reason for why you are archiving this Item in the Reason for Archiving field.
    • If you want any Items nested under this Item to be archived as well, select the Archive Nested Items checkbox.
  • Click Archive.

How do I Unarchive an Item?

Open the Item you want to Unarchive, then:

  • Click Actions in the top right corner of the Item.
  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click Unarchive.
  • In the resulting window:
    • Enter a reason for why you are unarchiving this Item in the Reason for Unarchiving field.
    • If you want any Items nested under this Item to be unarchived as well, select the Unarchive Nested Items checkbox.
  • Click Unarchive.

How do I view Archived Items?

By default, Archived Items are excluded from Item Lists and will not appear in any search results. However, Archived Items are still stored and accessible within the system. 

To view your Archived Items:

  • Click Items in the Navigation Bar at the top of the app.
  • Select a List from the resulting drop-down menu. 
  • If the Filters are not visible, click the Filters button in the top right corner to expand them.
  • To the right of the Quick Filters, click the Item Filter button.
  • In the resulting window:
    • Click View Options beneath the filter rules to expand the View Options section.
    • Select your preferred Show Archived setting:
      • Exclude Archived: This is the default option. The list will not include archived Items.
      • Only Archived: The list will only include archived Items.
      • Both: The list will include both archived Items and non-archived Items.
  • Click Save.

Two Line OfiPRO TIP: This view option works in conjunction with your filter criteria, so you will need to still filter correctly to pull up the Items you are looking for.