Teams

Edit a Team

Who can edit an Item's Team?

The ability to edit a Team is determined by either your Team Role or your Role permissions. You don't necessarily have to be on the Team of an Item in order to edit the Item, given that you have a Role permission that grants editing for the Workflow or Template within the specified Network Location(s).

Conversely, being on the Team of an Item supersedes your Role permissions. For example, if you do not have a Role that grants you the ability to edit Items but you are added to an Item as a Collaborator, you are then granted the ability to edit that Item because every Collaborator can edit the Items they're collaborating on.

For more information on Team types and their corresponding Team Roles, check out the following support articles:

Who can edit a Simple Team?

  • The Responsible
  • The Assigner
  • The Author
  • The Collaborator
  • Anyone with a Role that grants editing permission for the Workflow or Template within the specified Network Location(s).

Who can edit an Advanced Team?

  • Sponsor
  • Facilitator
  • Leader
  • Anyone with a Role that grants editing permission for the Workflow or Template within the specified Network Location(s).

Who can edit an Author-Only Team?

  • The Author
  • Anyone with a Role that grants editing permission for the Workflow or Template within the specified Network Location(s).

How do I edit a Team?

No matter what kind of Team an Item has, every Team can be edited in one of two ways:

  • From the Team Panel 
  • Using the Actions button

To edit a Team from the Team Panel, 

  • Open the Item, then hover over the Team Panel until the pencil icon appears. 
  • Select the pencil icon to open the Edit Team window.
    Edit Team in Panel-1
  • To add a User to the Team, click into the desired Team Role and begin typing a User's name. A drop-down menu will appear from which you can select the User. You may add as many Users as necessary to each Team Role.
    Edit Simple Team
  • To remove a User from the Team, select the x next to their name.
  • When you're satisfied with the Team, click Save.
    • If you do not want to save the changes to your Team, you can:
      • Select Cancel. This will close the Edit Team Window.
      • Select the x at the top right of the Edit Team Window. This will also close the Edit Team Window.

To edit a Team using the Actions button,

  • Open the Item, then select the Actions button.
  • In the resulting drop-down menu, select Edit Team.Edit Team Actions Button
  • To add a User to the Team, click into the desired Team Role and begin typing a User's name. A drop-down menu will appear from which you can select the User. You may add as many Users as necessary to each Team Role.
    Edit Team Window
  • To remove a User from the Team, select the x next to their name.
  • When you're satisfied with the Team, click Save.
    • If you do not want to save the changes to your Team, you can:
      • Select Cancel. This will close the Edit Team Window.
      • Select the x at the top right of the Edit Team Window. This will also close the Edit Team Window.