Copy a Board

If you want to make a new Board that is largely based on an existing one, you wouldn’t want to recreate the whole Board just to make a few changes. Instead, you can copy the existing Board and adjust the copy as you see fit.

What will the copy of a Board look like?

  • The copied Board will be a private Board. That means that only you will have access to it and that the public Board settings from the original Board (such as restricted viewership or additional Editors) will be lost.
    • If you have a System Role that grants you the Board Administrator permission, you'll be able to make this new Board public. 
  • It will be a top-level Board—not nested under another Board—and no other Boards will be nested beneath it.
  • X-Matrix and Nested Board List Cards will not be copied. All other kinds of Cards will be copied.

Who can copy a Board?

  • A Board's Owner
  • Anyone with a System Role that grants them the Board Administrator permission if the original Board is in a Network Location they can access.

How do I copy a Board?

Open the Board with which you want to work, then:

  • Click the Actions button in the top right corner of the Board.
  • In the resulting drop-down menu, select Copy.
  • Click Copy in the resulting Copy window.
  • The Board copy will be made and opened automatically.

Two Line OfieNOTE: By default, the resulting Board will be made Private and will not include Public Viewing settings. If you have a System Role that grants you the Board Administrator permission, you'll be able to make this new Board public. 

Recommended Reading