Review an Item's Resolution

Approve a submitted Resolution to officially complete an Item or decline it if it needs more work.

Items in KaiNexus can be configured such that their Resolution must be submitted for review and approved before the Item can be completed.

Who should review an Item's Resolution?

  • For Items using the Standard Team Type, the Assigner.

  • For Items using the Simple Team Type, the Assigner or anyone who can Assign its parent.

  • For Items using the Advanced Team Type, any Facilitator or Author.

  • Items using the Author-Only Team Type typically do not require approval.

Two Line OfieFor more information on Team Roles (like Authors, Facilitators, Participants, and more!) check out this article.

How do I know if I need to review a Resolution?

  1. You will receive an email from KaiNexus and an in-app notification that a Resolution was submitted.
  2. A flag will be added to the Item itself.

How do I review a Resolution?

To review an Item's Resolution, open the ITem with which you want to work, then either:

  • Click the status indicator then click Complete in the resulting drop-down menu,
  • Click Review Resolution in the "A Resolution has been submitted" flag, or
  • Click Review Submitted Resolution in the "Resolution" panel.

An Item work panel with arrows pointing to the status indicator and the Review Resolution buttons
In the resulting window:

  • Review the submitted Resolution and make any necessary changes.
  • Click Save to save your changes and finish reviewing this Resolution later.
  • Click Decline to indicate that more work needs to be done and the "Decline Resolution" window will open.
    • Reason for Declining: Enter an explanation as to why this Resolution was declined. The explanation will be added to the Item as a comment.
    • Click Decline and the Item will be transitioned back into its previous status.
  • Click Approve to accept this Resolution in its current state and the "Notify" window will open. On this screen, you can choose who should be notified about the completion of this Item.
    • Under the "People" header:
      • The Team checkbox: When this box is checked, everyone on the Item's Team will be notified.
        • In the drop-down to the right of the checkbox (set to "Digest" by default), select Digest if you want the Team to receive this notification as part of their usual daily digest email or Email Now if you want them to receive a separate, immediate email about this notification.
      • Use the Search for Other People  field to search for and select any other people who should be notified.
        • Each person you select will be listed below this search field. In the drop-down to the right of their name, select Digest or Email Now as described above.
    • Under the "Locations" header:
      • Each of the Item's Locations will be listed. Click the Select All checkbox to select every Location or click the checkbox next to a Location to select it individually.
        • In the first drop-down to the right of each Location (set to "Digest" by default), select Digest if you want everyone in this Location to receive this notification as part of their usual daily digest email or Email Now if you want them to receive a separate, immediate email about this notification.
        • In the second drop-down (set to "Location and Below") by default, select Location and Below if you want everyone in this Location and any Locations nested below it to be notified or Only at this Location if you only want people in this Location to be notified.
        • All Roles: Optionally, expand the drop-down to choose which Roles people in this Location must have in order to receive this notification. If you want everyone in the Location to be notified, leave this field blank.
      • Use the Search for Other Locations field to search for and select any other Locations in which people should be notified.
        • Each Location you select will be listed below this search field. Use the drop-downs to the right of each one to further detail how and to whom the notification should be sent, as described above.
    • Click Save. The notification will be sent to everyone you chose and the comment, if you added one, will be added to this Item.

Two Line OfieIf a person you've selected — or a person in a Location you selected — does not have permission to see this Item, they will not receive a notification.