Powered by Temper

Bulk Change Boards

You can Bulk Change any Boards in KaiNexus you have the permissions to edit using Manage Boards. 

 

Where can I Bulk Change Boards?

You can Bulk Change Boards when looking at:



How can Boards be Bulk changed?

NOTE: Only Board Administrators can Bulk Change Boards. 

If you have the permission to edit the Board with which you’re working with, you can bulk:

    • Change Parent

    • Change Restrict Viewing to

      You can:
      • Add to existing

      • Remove from existing

      • Replace all existing

      • Clear all existing

    • Change Editor(s)

      You can:
      • Add to existing

      • Remove from existing

      • Replace all existing

      • Clear all existing

    • Change Subscriber(s)

      You can:
      • Add to existing

      • Remove from existing

      • Replace all existing

      • Clear all existing

    • Change Location(s)

      You can:
      • Add to existing

      • Replace all existing

    • Change Owner

    • Delete 

NOTE: If you select any Boards that you do not have permission to edit and attempt to Bulk Change them, those Boards will be unchanged by your actions.



How do I Bulk Change Boards?

Make sure you are working in the Boards section Boards_section.png, then:

  • Click the blue picker in the top left corner where it displays the name of the current Board you are on to open up the Board drop-down menu.

  • At the bottom of the Board drop-down menu, click Manage_Boards.png.

 

In the resulting window:

  • In the top right corner, click Ellipses.png.

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click Bulkchange.png.

BulkChangeBoards1.jpg

Along the left-hand side of the Manage Board window, a checkbox will appear next to each Board. Check the boxes next to each Board with which you want to make the change, then click the Bulk_change_blue_icon.png at the top right-hand corner of the Board list.

 

Based on your system permissions, in the resulting drop-down menu, you will get the following options:

  • Change Parent

  • Change Restrict Viewing to

  • Change Editor(s)

  • Change Subscriber(s)

  • Change Location(s)

  • Change Owner

  • Delete



How do I Bulk Change Parent?

Follow the steps described above, then:

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click Bulk_Change_Parent.png.

BulkChangeBoardParent.jpg

In the resulting window:

  • In the “Parent” field, select which Board you would like to nest the select Boards underneath.

NOTE: The number of Boards that are selected will be displayed in the window.

The change(s) you attempt to make will only affect the Boards that you have permission to edit.

  • When you’re ready, click Save.png.

BulkChangeBoardParentWindow.jpg


How do I Bulk Change Restrict Viewing to?

Follow the steps described above, then:

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click Bulk_Change_Restrict_Viewing_to.png.

BulkChangeBoardRestrictViewingto.jpg

In the resulting window:

  • In the “Select the type of change” field, choose between:

    • Add to existing” - This option will add the specified User(s), Role(s), and/or Network Location(s) to the selected Board(s) in addition to their pre-existing View Restrictions.

    • Remove from existing” - This option will remove the specified User(s), Role(s), and/or Network Location(s) from the selected Board(s).

    • Replace all existing” - This option will replace the current User(s), Role(s), and/or Network Location(s) on the selected Board(s) with the specified User(s), Role(s), and/or Network Location(s).

    • Clear all existing” - This option will clear out all of the specified User(s), Role(s), and/or Network Location(s) on the selected Board(s).

      NOTE: Doing this will make the Board(s) visible to all Superusers. 

  • In the “Restrict Viewing to” field, select which User(s), Role(s), and/or Network Location(s) you would like to add or remove to the selected Board(s).

NOTE: The number of Boards that are selected will be displayed in the window.

The change(s) you attempt to make will only affect the Boards that you have permission to edit.

  • When you’re ready, click Save.png.

BulkChangeBoardRestrictViewingtoWindow.jpg


How do I Bulk Change Editor(s)?

Follow the steps described above, then:

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click Bulk_Change_Editor_s_.png.

BulkChangeBoardEditors.jpg

In the resulting window:

  • In the “Select the type of change” field, choose between:

    • Add to existing” - This option will add the specified User(s) as Editors to the selected Board(s) in addition to their pre-existing Editor(s).

    • Remove from existing” - This option will remove the specified User(s) as Editors from the selected Board(s).

    • Replace all existing” - This option will replace the current User(s) as Editors on the selected Board(s) with the specified User(s).

    • Clear all existing” - This option will clear out all of the specified User(s) as Editors on the selected Board(s).

  • In the “Editor(s)” field, select which User(s) you would like to add or remove as Editors to the selected Board(s).

NOTE: The number of Boards that are selected will be displayed in the window.

The change(s) you attempt to make will only affect the Boards that you have permission to edit.

  • When you’re ready, click Save.png.

BulkChangeBoardEditorsWindow.jpg


How do I Bulk Change Subscriber(s)?

Follow the steps described above, then:

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click Bulk_Change_Subscribers.png.

BulkChangeBoardSubscribers.jpg

In the resulting window:

  • In the “Select the type of change” field, choose between:

    • Add to existing” - This option will add the specified User(s) as Subscribers to the selected Board(s) in addition to their pre-existing Subscriber(s).

    • Remove from existing” - This option will remove the specified User(s) as Subscribers from the selected Board(s).

    • Replace all existing” - This option will replace the current User(s) as Subscribers on the selected Board(s) with the specified User(s).

    • Clear all existing” - This option will clear out all of the specified User(s) as Subscribers on the selected Board(s).

  • In the “Subscriber(s)” field, select which User(s) you would like to add or remove as Subscribers to the selected Board(s).

NOTE: The number of Boards that are selected will be displayed in the window.

The change(s) you attempt to make will only affect the Boards that you have permission to edit.

  • When you’re ready, click Save.png.

BulkChangeBoardSubscribersWindow.jpg


How do I Bulk Change Location(s)?

Follow the steps described above, then:

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click Bulk_Change_Locations.png.

BulkChangeBoardLocations.jpg

In the resulting window:

  • In the “Select the type of change” field, choose between:

    • Add to existing” - This option will add the specified Network Location(s) to the selected Board(s) in addition to their pre-existing Network Location(s).

    • Replace all existing” - This option will replace the current Network Location(s) on the selected Board(s) with the specified Network Location(s).

  • In the “Select the Location(s)” field, select which Network Location(s) you would like to add or remove to the selected Board(s).

NOTE: The number of Boards that are selected will be displayed in the window.

The change(s) you attempt to make will only affect the Boards that you have permission to edit.

  • When you’re ready, click Save.png.

BulkChangeBoardLocationsWindow.jpg


How do I Bulk Change Owner?

Follow the steps described above, then:

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click Bulk_Change_Owner.png.

BulkChangeBoardOwner.jpg

In the resulting window:

  • In the “Owner” field, select which User you would like to specify as the Board’s Owner.

NOTE: The number of Boards that are selected will be displayed in the window.

The change(s) you attempt to make will only affect the Boards that you have permission to edit.

  • When you’re ready, click Save.png.

BulkChangeBoardOwnerWindow.jpg


How do I Bulk Delete?

Follow the steps described above, then:

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click DeleteButton.png.

BulkChangeBoardDelete.jpg

In the resulting window:

  • Check the box next to “I understand this cannot be undone”.

NOTE: We strongly recommend either Restricting the Viewing, Hiding the Board, or changing the Board to a Private Board to keep a record of the Board rather than deleting it. Once a Board is deleted, there is no way to undo the deletion.

The number of Boards that are selected will be displayed in the window.

The change(s) you attempt to make will only affect the Boards that you have permission to edit.

  • When you’re ready, click Save.png.

BulkChangeBoardDeleteWindow.jpg



 

Have more questions? Submit a request