Powered by Temper

Escalate Workflows

NOTE: Reach out to your Customer Experience Lead to take advantage of this feature.

 

The Escalate feature is a Template setting that can be made available under the ellipses of any Templates that are not yet completed. You can use this feature to send a notification about that Item to either a specific User or a specific group of Users. This is used to inform those Users that an action needs to be taken regarding the escalated Item. The Escalation feature allows you to define customized Escalation Tiers that can be configured to represent a specific set of Users based on your specific escalation process. These Escalation Tiers can be completely unique per Template within your system, meaning you could configure multiple different escalation pathways based on your workflow within your system. 

 

When defining an Escalation Tier, you have the option of escalating an Item to:

  • Network Location(s)

  • Role(s) NOTE: (System Roles not Team Roles)

  • User(s)

 

Within each of these Escalation categories, you have the option of specifying each Tier so that an Item that can be escalated will follow your exact process no matter which User or what Location the Item is submitted from.

 

With Network Location(s), you can escalate to:

  • Current Location - This will escalate the Item to the Item’s current Network Location(s).

  • Specific Location - This will escalate the Item to a specified Network Location(s).

  • One Level Above - This will escalate the Item to the Network Location that is one level above the Item’s current Network Location(s).

  • Respect Network Configuration - This will escalate the Item based on the escalation hierarchy that is set up within the Network page of the Admin section.

 

You have the option to restrict the ability to deescalate an Item that’s been escalated to a Location Tier to only User(s) that have a specific Role.

 

Additionally, you can choose to have the Location(s) drop-down be both visible or editable when a User chooses to escalate the Item. This option allows for a variety of different configurations. 

 

Showing but not locking the Location(s) drop-down makes it both visible and editable for Users so that they see where the Item will be escalated to and can change the Location(s) populated in that field by default, if necessary.

Escalate1b.jpg

 

Showing and locking the Location(s) drop-down makes it visible but not editable for Users so that they can see where the Item will be escalated to but not change it.

Escalate1.jpg

 

Not showing the Location(s) drop-down makes it both not visible nor editable for Users so they cannot see where the Item will be escalated to nor change it.

Escalate1c.jpg

 

With Role(s), you can escalate to:

  • One or more specific system Roles

Additionally, you can choose to have the Role(s) drop-down be visible but locked when a User chooses to escalate the Item. This option simply allows for the User who is escalating the Item to see which Role(s) the Item will be escalated to. 

Escalate2.jpg

OR

Escalate2c.jpg

 

With User(s), you can escalate to:

  • One or more specific Users

Additionally, you can choose to have the User(s) drop-down be both visible or editable when a User chooses to escalate the Item. This option allows for a variety of different configurations. 

 

Showing but not locking the User(s) drop-down makes it both visible and editable for Users so that they see where the Item will be escalated to and can change the User(s) populated in that field by default, if necessary.

Escalate3.jpg

 

Showing and locking the User(s) drop-down makes it visible but not editable for Users so that they can see to whom the Item will be escalated to but not change it.

Escalate3b.jpg

 

Not showing the User(s) drop-down makes it both not visible nor editable for Users so they cannot see to whom the Item will be escalated to nor change it.

Escalate3c.jpg

 

With the ability to customize both Escalation Tiers and pathways, it’s possible to configure multiple escalation pathways on a single Template.

 

 

Filter for Escalated or Deescalated Items

Under the “Specialized” category, within the Activity filter, there are options for both “Escalated” and “Deescalated” Items. You can specify both the occurrence count and the time frame for which either of these actions have taken place.

Escalate4.jpg

 

Notifications for Escalated or Deescalated Items

By default, all Users that are a part of the Team of the Item that is being escalated will get an in-app notification informing them that the Item is being escalated or deescalated to a specific Escalation Tier. However, you also have the option of opting into receiving notifications for specific escalation or deescalation actions.

Within the Activity drop-down, there are options for “Escalated to”, “Escalated from”, “Deescalated to”, and “Deescalated from” where you can go further into defining the preference to only include Items that are being sent to one or more Escalation Tier(s). 

Escalate5.jpg

 

For an overview on how to escalate or deescalate an Item, select the corresponding link below:

 

See also:

 

Have more questions? Submit a request