Powered by Temper

Time Tracking

With Time Tracking, you have the ability to record the time you’ve spent working on an item in KaiNexus.

NOTE: Time Tracking must be enabled for each template. Reach out to your Customer Experience Lead to take advantage of this feature.

When Time Tracking is enabled for a template, a new “Time Tracking” section will be added to each item of that type. It will typically be placed under the “Dates” section, but if the template has a customized layout, it will appear in the set location and will be added to the “Other” tab.

Time_tracking.jpg

 

Who can add time or edit or delete existing work logs?

Anyone who can add files or links to the item. That includes:

  • An Improvement’s Author, Assigner, Responsible Person, and Collaborators, as well as anyone who can edit the Improvement’s parent or who has the “Assign” or “Edit” permission for Improvement in that Location.

  • A Project’s Sponsors, Facilitators, Leaders, and Participants, as well as anyone with the “Project Administrator” permission.

  • A Task’s Authors, Assigner, Responsible Person, and Collaborators, as well as anyone who can edit the Task’s parent.

  • A Chart’s Authors and anyone with the “Chart Administrator” permission.

  • If the Incident module is enabled for your organization, an Incident’s Author, Assigner, Responsible Person, and Collaborators, as well as anyone who can edit the Incident’s parent or who has the “Assign” or “Edit” permission for Incidents in that Location.

NOTE: Once an item is complete, you cannot add time without first reopening it.

 

How do I add an estimate?

Open the item with which you want to work, then:

  • Click 2018-05-01_2326.png in the top right corner of the page.

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click 2018-05-01_2327.png.

Estimate_.jpg

 

In the resulting window:

  • Enter the amount of time you estimate will be needed in the “Amount” field.

  • Select the unit of time - choose between hours and minutes.

  • Click 2018-04-30_1131.png.

 

How do I update the estimate?

Open the item with which you want to work, then:

  • Click 2018-05-01_2326.png in the top right corner of the page.

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click 2018-05-01_2327.png.

Estimate_.jpg

 

In the resulting window:

  • The original estimate will be displayed. You can edit its number value and its unit of measurement if necessary.

  • You can also update the estimate by updating the information under “Remaining Time Needed.” Doing so will add a new estimate based on the value entered, although the old estimate will still be visible

  • Click 2018-04-30_1131.png.

 

How do I log work?

Open the item with which you want to work, then:

  • Click 2018-05-01_2326.png in the top right corner of the page.

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click 2018-05-02_1012.png.

Log_work.jpg

 

In the resulting window:

  • Select the name of the person who did the work in the “Person” drop-down.

  • Enter the amount of time spent in the “Amount” field and the unit of time - hours or minutes.

  • Enter the date and time on which work began in the “Work Log Date” field.

    Be sure to format your entry in the “M d, Y hh:mm AM/PM” format. For example, you could enter “May 03, 2018 01:00 PM.”

  • (**Optional**) Enter a description of the work done in the “Description” field.

  • Click 2018-04-30_1131.png.

 

How do I view, edit, or delete logged work?

Open the item with which you want to work, then click 2018-05-02_1026.png in the top right corner of the “Time Tracking” section.

Expand_time_tracking.jpg

In the resulting window:

  • You’ll see every work entry that has been logged so far.

  • Click 2018-05-02_1028.png in the top right corner of the window to update the estimate.

  • Click 2018-05-02_1029.png in the top right corner of the window to log work.

  • Hover over the entry you want to edit so that it is highlighted blue, then click 2018-05-02_1030.png to its right.

  • Hover over the entry you want to delete, then click 2018-05-02_1030_001.png to its right.

NOTE: Once the item has been completed, you will be unable to edit the estimate, log work, or edit or delete any Time Tracking entries.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request