Powered by Temper

The interaction between Roles and Incidents

Who can see my Incident?

  • If an Incident is public and not in the "New" status, anyone with the "View," "View New," or "View New & Assign" permission for Incidents in that Location can see it. In most organizations, nearly everyone can access such an Incident.

  • If an Incident is public and in the "New" status, anyone with the "View New" or "View New & Assign" permission for Incidents in that Location can see it.

  • If an Incident is private, it can only be seen by the people on its team or who have the "View Private" permission for Incidents in that Location can see it. 

 

What can I do with an Incident?

Everyone with access to an Incident can perform basic actions such as commenting or exporting the Incident.

Beyond those basic actions, there are two factors that determine what you can and can’t do with an Incident:

 

1) What is your relationship to the Incident?

 

2) Do you have any Roles with special Incident permissions?

  • View New & Assign
    Permission to view other people’s new Incidents and assign Incidents the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • View New
    Permission to view other people's new Incidents within the selected Location(s).

  • View
    Permission to view other users’ public Incidents within the selected Location(s) that are not in the new status.

  • View Private
    Permission to view other users' private Incidents within the selected Location(s).

  • Edit
    Permission to edit Incidents the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • Honor Roll
    Permission to add Honor Roll to Incidents the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • Toggle Private
    Permission to toggle the private/public state of Incidents within the selected Location(s).

  • Delete
    Permission to delete Incidents the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • Comment Administrator
    If you can edit an Incident, you can also edit or delete other people's comments on it.

    NOTE: A person who can edit the item can always edit or delete their own comments, even without this permission.

  • Timeline Administrator
    If you can edit an Incident, you can delete its timeline entries.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request