Powered by Temper

Bulk edit an Improvement's nested items

With the right permissions, you can quickly edit multiple items nested under an Improvement at once.

Who can bulk edit a list of nested Tasks?

  • The Responsible Person
  • The Assigner
  • The Authors
  • Any Collaborator(s)
  • Anyone with the "Edit" permission for Improvements in this Location
  • If the Improvement is nested under a Project, the Project's Facilitators, Leaders, and/or Sponsors. If the Improvement is nested under a Chart, the Chart's Authors. 

How do I bulk edit a list of nested Tasks?

Navigate to the parent Improvement, then:

  • Open the corresponding tab or scroll to the corresponding panel on the main tab. Make sure the list of nested items List, Tree, or Detail View.

  • Check the box to the right of every item you want to edit

A screenshot of a KaiNexus Improvement's nested Task list. A blue arrow is pointing to the check box to the right of one of the nested Tasks.

 

  • Click 'Bulk Change' - once you select at least one Task, this button will appear in the top right corner of the "Tasks" section.

A screenshot of a KaiNexus Improvement's nested Task list. A blue arrow is pointing to the 'Bulk Change' button. The Bulk Change dropdown menu has been expanded so that its list of options is visible.

 

In the resulting drop-down menu, click:

  • Change Author - Add, remove, or replace the Authors on the selected item

  • Change Responsible - Change the Responsible Person on the selected items

    NOTE: Only items that already have a Responsible Person will be affected by this change.

  • Change Collaborator - Add, remove, replace, or completely clear the Collaborators on the selected items

  • Change Follower - Add, remove, replace, or completely clear the Followers on the selected items

  • Plan - Move the selected items into the Planned status

  • Complete  - Move the selected items into the Complete status

    NOTE: Only items that do not have a Resolution enabled can be completed with bulk change.

  • Defer - Move the selected items into the Deferred status

  • Change Due Date - Update the due date of all selected items

    NOTE: Only items that already have a due date set will be affected by this change.

  • Change Review Date  - Update the review date of all selected items

    NOTE: Only items that already have a review date set will be affected by this change.

  • Change Attribute - Update the value assigned to the Attributes on all selected items

    NOTE: Only Value Attribute Types are available for this change. Location, Person, and Weighted Score Attributes can not be updated through bulk change.

  • Change Locations - Add to or replace the Origination and/or Responsible Locations of all selected items

  • Change Parent - Replace or clear the parent under which the selected items are nested

  • Change Private - Change whether the selected items are private or public

  • Add Comment - Add a comment to all selected items

  • Archive- Archive unarchived items or unarchive archived items

  • Delete - Delete all selected items

    NOTE: This change cannot be undone. We advise that deletion should only be used in cases such as testing and training.
     
Have more questions? Submit a request