Powered by Temper

The interaction between Roles and Improvements

Who can see my Improvement?

  • If an Improvement is public and not in the "New" status, anyone with the "View," "View New," or "View New & Assign" permission for Improvements in that Location can see it. In most organizations, nearly everyone can access such an Improvement.

  • If an Improvement is public and in the "New" status, anyone with the "View New" or "View New & Assign" permission for Improvements in that Location can see it.

  • If an Improvement is private, it can only be seen by the people on its team or who have the "View Private" permission for Improvements in that Location can see it. If the Improvement is nested under a Project and the Project's team members have been given permission to see its nested private items, they will also be able to access the Improvement.

 

What can I do with an Improvement?

Everyone with access to an Improvement can perform basic actions such as commenting or exporting the Improvement.

Beyond those basic actions, there are two factors that determine what you can and can’t do with an Improvement:

 

1) What is your relationship to the Improvement?

 

2) Do you have any Roles with special Improvement permissions?

  • View - Permission to view other users’ public Improvements within the selected Location(s) that are not in the new status

  • View New - Permission to view other people's new Improvements within the selected Location(s)

  • Edit - Permission to edit Improvements the user can access within the selected Location(s)

  • Request - Permission to request people within the selected Locations to become the Responsible Person on an Improvement

  • View New & Assign - Permission to view other people’s new Improvements and assign Improvements the user can access within the selected Location(s)

  • View Private - Permission to view other users' private Improvements within the selected Location(s)

  • Toggle Private - Permission to toggle the private/public state of Improvements within the selected Location(s)

  • Honor Roll - Permission to add Honor Roll to Improvements the user can access within the selected Location(s)

  • Delete - Permission to delete Improvements the user can access within the selected Location(s)

  • Comment Administrator - If you can edit an Improvement, you can also edit or delete other people's comments on it

    NOTE: A person who can edit the item can always edit or delete their own comments, even without this permission.

  • Timeline Administrator - If you can edit an Improvement, you can delete its timeline entries

 

Have more questions? Submit a request