Share an Item

Send someone a notification or link to an Item.

If you want to let someone know that they should take a look at one of your Items, you can:

Who can share an Item?

To share an Item, you must have permission to view it. Only the following people can view an Item:

  • Anyone on the Item's Team.
  • Potentially anyone on the parent's Team.
  • If the Item is not private and not in the New status, anyone with the "View" permission for Items in its Location(s).
  • If the Item is private, anyone with the "View Private" permission for Items in its Location(s).
  • If the Item is in the New status and is not private, anyone with the "View New" permission for Items in its Location(s).

Copy the Item's direct link

There are two ways to copy the link to an Item: from the Item's work panel or while sharing the Item.

Copy the link from the Item's work panel

Open the Item with which you want to work, then:

  • Hover over the Item's ID number and the Copy Link icon will appear to its right.
  • Click the Copy Link icon to copy the link to your clipboard.

Copy the link while sharing the Item

Open the item with which you want to work, then:

  • Click Actions in the top right corner of the page.

An Item work panel with an arrow pointing to the Actions button

  • Click Share in the resulting drop-down menu and the Item's "Share" window will open.
    • Click Copy Link in the bottom right corner to copy the link to your clipboard.

Send a notification about an in-progress Item

You can send a notification to an Items Team, specific people, or everybody in a Location all at once by sharing the Item with them.

To do so, open the item with which you want to work, then:

  • Click Actions in the top right corner of the page.
  • Click Share in the resulting drop-down menu and the Item's "Share" window will open.
    • Comment: Optionally, enter a comment if you want to explain why you're sharing the Item. This comment will also be added to the Item.
    • Under the "People" header:
      • The Team checkbox: When this box is checked, everyone on the Item's Team will be notified.
        • In the drop-down to the right of the checkbox (set to "Digest" by default), select Digest if you want the Team to receive this notification as part of their usual daily digest email or Email Now if you want them to receive a separate, immediate email about this notification.
      • Use the Search for Other People  field to search for and select any other people who should be notified.
        • Each person you select will be listed below this search field. In the drop-down to the right of their name, select Digest or Email Now as described above.
    • Under the "Locations" header:
      • Each of the Item's Locations will be listed. Click the Select All checkbox to select every Location or click the checkbox next to a Location to select it individually.
        • In the first drop-down to the right of each Location (set to "Digest" by default), select Digest if you want everyone in this Location to receive this notification as part of their usual daily digest email or Email Now if you want them to receive a separate, immediate email about this notification.
        • In the second drop-down (set to "Location and Below") by default, select Location and Below if you want everyone in this Location and any Locations nested below it to be notified or Only at this Location if you only want people in this Location to be notified.
        • All Roles: Optionally, expand the drop-down to choose which Roles people in this Location must have in order to receive this notification. If you want everyone in the Location to be notified, leave this field blank.
      • Use the Search for Other Locations field to search for and select any other Locations in which people should be notified.
        • Each Location you select will be listed below this search field. Use the drop-downs to the right of each one to further detail how and to whom the notification should be sent, as described above.
    • Click Save. The notification will be sent to everyone you chose and the comment, if you added one, will be added to this Item.

Two Line OfieIf a person you've selected — or a person in a Location you selected — does not have permission to see this Item, they will not receive a notification.