Powered by Temper

Escalate an Item

Who can Escalate an Item?

If Escalation Tiers have been enabled on the Template, anyone who is able to edit the Item will have the ability to initially escalate the Item to another Tier. 

 

This means Users can escalate an Item if:

  • They are apart of the Team of an Item

    • Projects: Facilitator(s), Leader(s), Sponsor(s)
    • Improvements: Author(s), Assigner, Responsible, Collaborator(s)
    • Incidents: Author(s), Assigner, Responsible, Collaborator(s)
    • Tasks: Author(s), Assigner, Responsible, Collaborator(s)
    • Charts: Author(s)

  • They have the “Edit” permission for Items in the specified Network Location(s) as a part of one of their Roles

  • They have the “Escalation Administrator” permission for Items in the specified Network Location(s) as a part of one of their Roles

NOTE: The “Escalation Administrator” permission will allow Users to both escalate or deescalate to any of the Escalation Tiers that are configured on your Template(s). 

 

How do I Escalate an Item?

Open the Item that you wish to escalate, then:

  • Click EllipsesButton.png in the top right corner of the Item’s page.

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click Escalate.png.

EscalateItem1.jpg



In the resulting window, you can:

  • In the “Reason for Escalation” field, enter a reason for why you are escalating this Item.

  • In the “Escalate to” drop-down, select which Escalation Tier you wish to escalate the Item to.

NOTE: The options available in this drop-down may differ per User depending on the unique Tiers defined by your organization and your level of permissions for escalation.

  • If you are escalating to a Tier based on system Role(s) and your organization has configured it to be visible, you will see a Role(s) drop-down appear grayed out below with the Role(s) to which the Item will be escalated to.

Escalate2.jpg



  • If you are escalating to a Tier based on Network Location(s) and your organization has configured it to be visible, you will see a Location(s) drop-down appear below with the Network Location(s) to which the Item will be escalated to.

Escalate1.jpg

NOTE: There are several different configuration options here. Your organization may choose to have the Location(s) field be visible and non-editable or your organization may choose to have the Location(s) field be visible and editable so Users can change the default Location(s) if necessary.

  • If you are escalating to a Tier based on User(s) and your organization has configured it to be visible, you will see a User(s) drop-down appear below with the User(s) to which the Item will be escalated to.

Escalate3.jpg

NOTE: There are several different configuration options here. Your organization may choose to have the User(s) field be visible and non-editable or your organization may choose to have the User(s) field be visible and editable so Users can change the default User(s) if necessary.

  • When you’re ready, click Escalate_blue.png.

EscalateItem2.jpg

PRO-TIP: Your organization has the option to customize the text near the top of the Escalate window if you wish to provide some specific messaging to your Users.

EscalateItem4.jpg

The Item will then be flagged at the top to let people know that this Item was escalated. A notification will be sent out to all Users that are a part of the Team of the Item and anyone else who has set up notifications for an escalation action to that Escalation Tier.

EscalateItem3.jpg

PRO-TIP: If an Item has already been escalated once, if you have the correct permissions, you can escalate it once more by clicking Escalate_flag.png within the flag at the top of the escalated Item.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request