The Admin area is only accessible by administrators; only Quality Administrators can perform the functions detailed on this support page.
Each Role can be given notification preferences which will become the default preferences of each user assigned the Role. These notification preferences control about which updates a user is notified.
NOTE: The default notification preferences of users with multiple Roles will be a superset of those Roles' preferences.
How do I change a Role’s notification settings?
Navigate to the "Roles" admin page, then:
- Hover over the Role so that it's highlighted blue.
- Click to its right.
In the resulting window:
- Click to create a new notification preference. (See below for more details)
- Click to clear the list of preferences. This is useful if you want to start from scratch.
- Edit any preference by clicking next to it. You have the same options when editing a preference as you do when creating one, so the instructions below can be applied here as well.
- Delete a preference entirely by clicking next to it.
In the new notification preference window:
You will first be prompted to choose a Workflow - Projects, Charts, Tasks, Improvements, or Incidents (if the Incident Add-On is enabled for your organization).
Once you've chosen a workflow, a new optional field will appear directly below the "Type" field. If you want users with this Role to be notified about every item in this workflow that meets the rest of this preference, leave this field blank.
If you only want them to be notified about items with certain templates, fill in this field.
Click the field to open a drop-down menu of all your organization's templates in that workflow. Select as many as you would like to have included in this notification preference.
You will then be prompted to choose a status. For example, you can choose to be notified about Improvements that are new, overdue, become active, etc.
Check the box next to "Include Projects" to include items that are part of a Project. Uncheck this box to only include stand-alone items.
You will next be prompted to choose the Location parameters for this notification preference. Your options are:
- Anywhere - Users will get notified about items in every Location of the organization. This is best for Process Improvement or other leaders who need to hear about all Improvements made in the organization, not just ones in certain Lo
- User’s Location & Below - Users will get notified about items in their Location(s), as well as the Locations under it in the Network. This is best for users who lead a department or division made up of several sub-levels, who need to be informed about all work done in each tier of their Location.
- User’s Location Only - Get notified only about work done in their own Location(s). This is often used in cases where you lead a group or team that has sub-levels in the Network, but you only want to be notified about the work done at your particular Location.
Next, you will be prompted to decide when you want them to be notified. NOTE: You will only be prompted for this information if you entered "new," "overdue," and "resolution submitted" statuses in the "Status" field.
- Immediately - They will be notified that day.
- Delayed - They will be notified after a set number of days. Once you choose "Delayed," a new "After __ day(s)" field will appear. Enter the number of days by which you want the notification to be delayed in that field.
- Check the box next to "Remind each week?" to be notified about this event every week until it is addressed. This helps keep information from falling through the cracks.
- Alert Only - An alert is added to the item, marking it for their attention. This alert will also be added to your notification window in KaiNexus.
- Alert + Email - An alert is added to the item and their notification window, and they will receive an email about it as well.
The last setting you might need to enter is the Advanced/Impact qualifications. NOTE: You'll only see this area if the notification preference is about completed Improvements.
Open the "Advanced" section at the bottom of the "New Notification Preference" window. Check the box next to every outcome of an Improvement about which you want them to be notified.
- Impact Types - Choose which impact types you want them to be informed about. These are the types of change and Improvement might have resulted in.
- No Change Reasons - Choose which "No Change" reasons you want them to be informed about. These are the possible reasons for why an Improvement didn't result in a change.
- Third Option Reasons (this terminology will vary based on your organization's preferences) - Choose which "Third Option" reasons you want them to be informed about. These are the outcomes of Improvements that didn't result in a change but didn't quite result in a typical "No change" either.
NOTE: If your organization doesn't have any "Third Option" reasons in place, you will not see this category.