Powered by Temper

Edit a Role

To get to this page, navigate to the Admin page by clicking  on the left sidebar menu, look under the Organization heading, and click "Roles." The admin page is only accessible by administrators; only Quality Administrators can perform the functions detailed on this support page.



How do I edit a Role?

  • Hover over the Role’s name so that it is highlighted blue.



  • Click  to the right of the Role.

 

In the resulting window:

  • Edit the Role's name.

  • (**Optional**) Edit the Role's Default Board.

    Users assigned this Role will see that Board each time they log in unless they set a Default Board of their own.

  • (**Optional**) Edit the description.

    This description will appear whenever users hover over the Role’s name. We recommend including the powers that Role allows so that people can quickly see what permissions a person with this Role holds.

  • (**Optional**) Check the box next to "Specific Location" and add the relevant Location(s) to the resulting new field. This indicates that this Role applies only to the specified Location(s). This overrides the default behavior in which the user's own Locations are used to define the areas in which this Role applies.

  • (**Optional**) Edit the permissions for Improvements, Incidents (if the Incidents module is activated for your organization), Projects, Charts, Reports, and Admin (see below for more information).
  • Click 2018-04-11_1420.png.

 

Improvement Permissions

To grant a permission, select the corresponding checkbox.

  • View New & Assign
    Permission to view other people’s new Improvements and assign Improvements the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • View New
    Permission to view other people's new Improvements within the selected Location(s).

  • View
    Permission to view other users’ public Improvements within the selected Location(s) that are not in the new status.

  • View Private
    Permission to view other users' private Improvements within the selected Location(s).

  • Edit
    Permission to edit Improvements the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • Honor Roll
    Permission to add Honor Roll to Improvements the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • Toggle Private
    Permission to toggle the private/public state of Improvements within the selected Location(s).

  • Private
    Permission to create Private Improvements within the selected Location(s).

  • Delete
    Permission to delete Improvements the user can access within the selected Location(s).

 

Incident Permissions  (if the Incident Add-On is active in your organization)

NOTE: Your organization must have the Incident Add-On for you to see this section.

To grant a permission, select the corresponding checkbox.

  • View New & Assign
    Permission to view other people’s new Incidents and assign Incidents the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • View New
    Permission to view other people's new Incidents within the selected Location(s).

  • View
    Permission to view other users’ public Incidents within the selected Location(s) that are not in the new status.

  • View Private
    Permission to view other users’ private Incidents within selected Location(s).

  • Edit
    Permission to edit Incidents the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • Honor Roll
    Permission to add Honor Roll to Incidents the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • Toggle Private
    Permission to toggle the private/public state of Incidents within the selected Location(s).Permission to create Private Improvements within the selected Location(s).

  • Delete
    Permission to delete Incidents the user can access within the selected Location(s).

 

Project Permissions

  • View
    Permission to view other users’ public Projects within the selected Location(s).

  • View Private
    Permission to view other users’ private Projects within selected Location(s).

  • Administrator
    Permission to edit visible Projects.

    NOTE: If "Specific Location" is checked, this option will not be available.


Chart Permissions

  • View
    Permission to view other users’ public Charts within the selected Location(s).

  • View Private
    Permission to view other users’ private Charts within selected Location(s).

  • Administrator
    Permission to edit all Charts in the organization.

    NOTE: If "Specific Location" is checked, this option will not be available.


Once you select a permission, you will be asked about where the permission should apply. Select the appropriate location from the drop-down menu.
 

  • Everywhere
    The permission will apply to items in every Location of the organization.

    This is best for executives or leaders who need to monitor and lead improvement work throughout the entire organization.

    NOTE: If "Specific Location" is checked, this option will not be available.

  • Location & Below
    The permission will apply to items in the user's own Location or to the specific Location noted above, as well as the Locations under it. 

    This is best for users who need to monitor and lead improvement in a particular area and below, but not at higher levels or those in another branch of the organization's hierarchy.

  • Only Location
    The permission will apply to items in the user's Location or in the specific Location noted above. 

    This is best for users who only need to monitor and lead work done in only a particular unit or Location.

  • Only User’s
    This permission will apply only to the user’s own work.

    This is best for users who are trained to manage their own work.

 

Report Permissions

NOTE: If "Specific Location" is checked, this section will not be available.

  • View
    Permission to view the Reports area. Impact data from the Snapshot and the Impact Reports will not be visible. Users with only this permission will not be able to view the aggregate impact of Projects or Improvements.

  • View Impact
    Permission to view the impact of Improvements and Projects.

 

Admin Permissions Details

NOTE: If "Specific Location" is checked, this section will be unavailable, with the exception of the Local User Administrator option.

  • Global Public Board Administrator
    Permission to create and edit public Boards.

    Using direct links, Global Board Administrators can see any public Board - even if it has been restricted to a Location they aren't in.

  • Restricted Board Administrator
    Permission to edit Board for which the user is an Owner.

  • Local User Administrator
    Permission to manage the organization's users in the relevant Location and below. People with this permission can only assign users to either their own Location or to the Location(s) specific above -- or to a Location nestled below.

  • Global User Administrator
    Permission to manage the organization’s users (in any Location), Titles, Positions, Employee Types, and Certifications.

  • Global Badge Administrator
    Permission to grant and revoke manually grantable Badges. People given this permission must also be a Local or Global User Administrator to be able to access users' profiles and grant or remove their Badges.

  • Quality Administrator
    Permission to manage the organization’s Network, Level Types, Roles, and Improvement/Project Attributes.

  • System Administrator
    Permission to view and manage everything in the System section of the Admin page.

  • API Administrator (If your organization is using the API Add-On)
    Permission to create and edit API Keys. Permission to grant any Role to any API Key.

  • X-Matrix Administrator (If your organization is using the X-Matrix Add-On)
    Permission to create and edit any X-Matrix.

  • Comment Administrator
    Permission to edit or delete other people's comments on items that the user has permission to edit.

  • Timeline Administrator
    Permission to delete timeline entries on items that the user has permission to edit.


Pro Tips

After choosing either of the User Administrator permissions:

  1. Check the box next to "Receive Requests" to have people assigned this Role be responsible for handling new account requests, settings users' passwords, and helping users reset their passwords and activate their accounts. This is best for Global User Administrators.

  2. Check the box next to "Grantable Roles" to give people assigned this Role permission to edit users' Roles. You can limit which Roles they can assign by adding those Roles to the "Grantable Roles" field. If you do not check this box, these people will not be able to change a user's Role(s) when editing that user.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request