Powered by Temper

How to Edit a Project

Who can edit a Project?

Only the following KaiNexus users may edit a Project:

 

How do I edit a Project?

Open the Project you wish to edit, then:

  • Click the ellipsis in the top right corner of the Project’s page.

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click 'Edit Details'.

A screenshot of a KaiNexus Project. A blue arrow is pointing to the ellipsis icon, and its dropdown menu is open. All options except for 'Edit Details' are grayed out.



In the resulting window, you can:

  • Edit any Fields or Attributes that are a part of this Template

  • Update the Project's Parent -- the item under which it's nested, if any

  • Check the box next to “Make Private” to make the Project private and restrict its visibility to only its team and users with the “View Private” permission for Projects in the relevant Location(s).

    Leave this box unchecked to allow anyone with the correct “View” permission for Projects in the relevant Location(s) to view this Project.

NOTE: If you do not see this option, you do not have permission to make the Project private.

 

  • Check the box next to “Allow Project Team to see any nested private Improvements in this Project” to allow Team Members to view any private Improvements that are part of the Project, regardless of whether or not they have the “View Private” permission for Improvements in the relevant Location(s).

  • Check the box next to “Allow Project Team to see any nested private Projects in this Project” to allow Team Members to view any private Projects that are part of the Project, regardless of whether or not they have the “View Private” permission for Projects in the relevant Location(s).

  • When you are finished making your edits, click 'Save'.

  • If you wish to exit out of the edit window without saving any changes, click either “Cancel” in the bottom left corner or click the X.png in the top right corner of the window.

  • If there were any changes that were made to the Project within the edit window, then after clicking either “Cancel” or the X.png, you will be prompted with an additional window:

UnsavedChanges.jpg

NOTE: This window will only appear if you have made any sort of edit(s) to Fields or Attributes on the Project since you opened up the edit window. If no changes were made to the Project, then if you were to close out of the edit window, you would not be prompted with this additional message.

 

  • Click Discard__blue_.png to exit the edit window without saving any of the changes you made to the Project.

  • Click Go_Back.png to return to the edit window of the Project to continue making changes if necessary. 

 

 

Other ways to edit a Project

You can also edit your Project by clicking the the pencil icon in the top right of any Details panel.

A screenshot of a KaiNexus Project. A blue arrow is pointing to the pencil icon in one of the Details panels.

This will bring up a window where you can make edits to all of the fields contained within that panel on the template. This is particularly useful for templates using custom layouts.

If you want to only make changes to a specific field, you can do so with single field editing by clicking that field's data. This can save you the time of scrolling through all the possible fields and Attributes on the main Edit window.

A screenshot of a KaiNexus Project. A blue arrow is pointing to one of the fields in a Details panel. The field has been highlighted in light gray.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request