To get to this page, navigate to the Admin page by clicking on the left sidebar menu, look under Users, and click on Users. This admin page is only accessible by administrators; only User Administrators can perform the functions detailed on this support page.
There are five main reasons why a person might get an email from KaiNexus:
Every active user gets a digest email summarizing important updates at least once a week, as long as the system or another user has made changes an item with which they're involved or an event has happened that they've asked to be notified about.
If a user has subscribed to a custom list or to a Board - or someone else has subscribed them to a Board - they will get a subscription email at least once a week containing information about and links to that list or Board.
You have an association with an item and an action occurred on that item. The vast majority of the time you will be notified of this via the digest. For some items that are more time-sensitive, you will be notified via an email.
Either your own notification settings or those of one of your Roles contain opt-in preferences. When an event happens in the system that matches one of your preferences, you'll receive an email (or just an alert, depending on your settings).
- User Elected
One of your colleagues has elected to notify you of something in KaiNexus such as if:
If a user is a leader in the system you may want to set up opt-in notification preferences so that they will be notified of other work going on in the system with which they are not associated.
For example, many leaders like to be notified when there are new Improvements in their location so that they can assign them. Many also prefer to be notified about overdue Improvements in their area so that they can coach the people responsible for their completion.
How do I change another user's notification preferences?
NOTE: Only User Administrators can change another person's notification preferences.
To do so, go to the People page, then:
- Find the user whose notification settings you wish to change on the list of users.
- Hover over the user’s name so that it is highlighted blue and click to the right.
Under the "Email Settings" tab, you can configure on which days the user should receive their digest and subscription emails, or turn off all emails for a certain account.
- Control the days on which you want the user to receive their digest by checking the boxes next to those days under "Which days do you want to receive a digest." You must have at least one day selected.
- Control the days on which you want the user to receive their subscription email by checking the boxes next to those days under "Which days do you want to receive your subscriptions." You must have at least one day selected.
- Control at what time - and in which time zone - processing should begin on the user's digest and subscription emails under the "What time (and time zone) do you want to receive your Digest/Subscriptions." They will typically receive these emails within an hour of their processing start time.
Leave these fields blank to keep to your organization's default.
- User Administrators can toggle emails on and off for other users. If you turn off emails, all notification based emails will be discarded; account support and password reset emails will still be sent as usual.
To configure the user's opt-in notification settings, open the "Opt-In" tab.
There are a few ways you can go about customizing their preferences:
- Click to create a new notification preference.
- Click to clear the list of preferences. This is useful if you want to start from scratch.
- Click to return your list of preferences to the default as defined by your Roles' settings.
- Edit any preference by clicking next to it. You have the same options when editing a preference as when creating one, so the instructions below can be applied here as well.
- Delete an individual preference entirely by clicking .
Creating a new notification preference
- You will first be prompted to choose a Workflow - Projects, Charts, Tasks, Improvements, or Incidents (if the Incident Add-On is enabled for your organization).
Once you've chosen a workflow, a new optional field will appear directly below the "Type" field. If you want to be notified about every item in this workflow that meets the rest of this preference, leave this field blank.
If you only want to be notified about items with certain templates, fill in this field.
Click the field to open a drop-down menu of all your organization's templates in that workflow. Select as many as you would like to have included in this notification preference.
- Then choose a status you would like to be notified about. For example, you can choose to be notified about Improvements that become Overdue.
- Check to include Improvements or Projects that are nested under Projects. Uncheck this box to only include stand-alone Projects.
Pro Tip: Often, people choose to leave this box unchecked since they aren't responsible for these ideas; Facilitators are responsible for the ideas that are part of their Projects.
- Anywhere - The user will be notified about Improvements in every part of the organization. This is best for executives or other leaders who need to hear about all Improvements made in the organization, not just ones in certain locations.
- User’s Location & Below - The user will be notified about Improvements in the user’s location, as well as the locations under them. This is best for people who lead a department or division made up of several sub-levels, who need to be informed about all work done in each tier of their location.
- User’s Location Only - The user will be notified only about work done in the user’s specific location. This is best for people who lead a work group or team that does not have any sub-levels, who only need to be informed about the Improvements from their own unit.
- Specific Location - The user will be notified only about work done in some location with which they are otherwise not affiliated. Enter the name of the location then select either “This location & Below” or “This Location Only.”
NOTE: You'll only be asked about when the user should be notified if you choose New, Active, Overdue, and Resolution Submitted as the status.
- Immediately - The user will be notified right away.
- Delayed - The user will be notified after a set number of days.
Pro Tip: Some leaders use this delay feature to make themselves a backup to the people who actually need to act on these Improvements and Projects. For example, if a leader asks to be notified about new Improvements after a 7-day delay, they've given the person who needs to assign it a week to act.
If they haven't assigned the Improvements by then, the leader is notified and can provide coaching or a reminder of the importance of a quick response.
- Check to be notified about this event every week until it is addressed. This keeps information from falling through the cracks.
- Alert Only - An alert is added to the Improvement, marking it for the user's attention. The alert will also appear in their Notifications Screen.
- Alert + Email - An alert is added to the Improvement and the user's Notifications Screen and they will receive an email containing information about this event.
NOTE: The only status for which you will be given advanced options is Completed Improvements.
- Impact Types - Choose about which impact types you want to be informed.
- No Change Reasons - Choose about which No Change reasons you want to be informed.
- Third Option Reasons (this terminology will vary based on your organization's preferences) - Choose which Third Option reasons you want to be informed about.