Powered by Temper

Edit users

The "Admin" area is only accessible by administrators; only User Administrators can perform the functions detailed on this support page. 

 

How do I edit a user?

Navigate to the "Users" admin page, then:

  • Hover over the user you want to edit so that it is highlighted blue and click  to its right.

Edit_user.jpg


In the resulting window, you can edit the user's:

  • Username
    Many of our customers assign usernames to their users that match either their email, employee ID number, or their username from their work computers. Any of these are great usernames because they’re easy for users to remember, but you can use any convention you want for coming up with usernames. Remember, usernames must be unique.

    If you change their username while this user is logged in, they will automatically be logged out and need to log in again with their new username.

  • Email
    It is highly recommended that, when possible, each account have an associated email address. This makes using KaiNexus much easier for the average user, ensuring that they receive all important notifications about their account and improvement work.

    If you include an email address, upon activating their account, the user will receive an email containing instructions on how to finalize the activation of their account, choose a password, and log in for the first time. If you do not include an email, it’s your responsibility to activate the account and inform the user about their password and how to log into KaiNexus.


  • First and Last Name

  • Mobile Phone, Work Phone, and/or Pager numbers

  • Physical Location
    This is the user’s physical location. For example, if your organization has several buildings, you would put the name of the user’s building (and perhaps the floor) in this field.

  • Employee ID

  • Titles

    A user can have as many Titles, or degrees, as applicable.

  • Positions

    A user can be assigned as many Positions, or job functions, as applicable.

  • Employee Type

    A user can be assigned as many Employee Types, or attributes describing the terms of their employment, as applicable.

  • Hire Date

  • Certifications

    A user can be assigned as many Certifications, or confirmations of the employee’s qualifications or education, as applicable.

  • Badges
    If you are a Global Badge Administrator, you can give the user any of your organization's manually grantable Badges - if there are any.

  • Network Location 
    A user can be assigned to as many Network Locations as applicable so that they can be kept in the loop about work being done in every part of the organization with which they are involed.

  • Roles
    A Role is a way to grant certain powers and permissions to a user. Every user can be assigned as many Roles as appropriate. A user’s Role determines their default notification settings as well as their powers and permissions within KaiNexus.

    If the user has multiple Network Locations, you can control which Roles apply to items in which Locations.

 

How do I edit multiple users at once?

Navigate to the "Users" admin page, then:

  • Click the checkbox next to the name of every user you want to edit.

  • Click 2018-04-11_1322.png in the top right corner of the page.

    NOTE: This button will not appear until you signify that you have selected at least one user.

 

Bulk_change_button.jpg

 

In the resulting drop-down menu, choose from the following options:

  • Change Status

    • In the resulting window, select a new status for the selected users

      If changing to the Active status, users with an email address in the system will be sent an activation email if they have not been activated before. Otherwise, they will be sent an email with their account information.

    • Click 2018-05-03_1410.png.

  • Change Location(s)

    • In the resulting window:

      • Choose how the new Locations will be added in the "Select the type of change" field.

        • "Add to existing" will add the new Locations without removing the users' current Locations.

        • "Replace all existing" will remove all of the users' current Locations and add the selected new Locations.

      • Choose which Locations should be added in the "Select the Location(s)" field.

      • Click 2018-05-03_1410.png.

  • Change Role(s)

    • In the resulting window:

      • Choose how the new Roles will be added in the "Select the type of change" field.

        • "Add to existing" will add the new Roles without removing the users' current Roles.

        • "Replace all existing" will remove all of the users' current Roles and add the selected new Roles.

        • "Clear all existing" will remove all of the users' current Roles.

      • If you selected "Add to existing" or "Replace all existing," choose which Roles should be added in the "Select the Role(s)" field.

      • Click 2018-05-03_1410.png.

  • Change Badges(s)

    NOTE: This option will only be available if your organization is using Badges and you are a Global Badge Administrator.

    • In the resulting window:

      • Choose how the new Badges will be added in the "Select the type of change" field.

        • "Add to existing" will add the new Badges without removing the users' current Badges.

        • "Remove from existing" will remove the selected Badges without adding any.

        • "Replace all existing" will remove all of the users' current Badges and add the selected new Badges.

        • "Clear all existing" will remove all of the users' current manually grantable Badges. Any system-granted Badges will be unaffected.

      • If you selected "Add to existing," "Remove from existing," or "Replace all existing," choose which Badges should be added or removed from the "Badges" field.

        NOTE: Only manually grantable Badges can be added.

  • Send Activation Email

    All selected users that are in the Active status, have an email address, and have not yet activated their account will be sent a new activation email.

    • In the resulting window, click 2018-05-03_1419.png.

  • Change Digest Days

    All Active users get a digest email at least once a week. You can configure on which day(s) these users should receive their digests.

    In the resulting window:

    • Check the box next to each day you want to include.

    • Click 2018-05-03_1410.png.

  • Change Subscription Days

    All Active users who have subscribed to a Board or custom list receive a subscription email at least once a week. You can configure on which day(s) these users should receive their subscription emails.

    In the resulting window:

    • Check the box next to each day you want to include.

    • Click 2018-05-03_1410.png.

  •  Turn Email On/Off

    In the resulting window:

    • Select "On" to turn emails on for these users; select "Off" to turn all non-password reset or activation emails off for these users. 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request