Powered by Temper

Escalate an Incident

STOP: Is the Incident module active for your organization?

 

In KaiNexus, we have a feature that allows certain people associated with an Incident to escalate it. This can be used in a couple different scenarios:

  • As a way to notify people of a critical issue.

  • As a way to ask for help.

  • As a way to remind people of an Incident that is not being acted upon quickly enough.

You're required to enter a reason for the escalation, which gives you a chance to explain why you wanted your leaders' input or attention. Depending on how your organization has customized that Incident's template, you may be able to transfer the Incident to a new Location.

 

What happens when I escalate an Incident?

If the Incident is not transferred during the escalation, the following people will be notified:

  • The person or people who are responsible for assigning new Incidents in your Location will be notified of the escalation via a separate email.

  • Anyone who has an opt-in notification preference set for new Incidents submitted in your Location will receive a notification via an alert and/or an email based on their notification preference.

 

If the Incident is transferred during the escalation, the following people will be notified:

  • The person or people who are responsible for assigning new Incidents in that Location will be notified of the escalation via a separate email.

  • Anyone who has an opt-in notification preference set for new Incidents submitted in that Location will receive a notification via an alert and/or an email based on their notification preferences.

  • Anyone who has an opt-in notification preference set for Incidents transferred in that Location will receive a notification via an alert and/or an email based on their notification preferences.

 

Finally, an entry noting the escalation will be added to the Timeline.

 

Who can escalate and transfer an Incident?

It depends on your organization's settings for this template.

There are three options relating to a person’s ability to escalate an Incident that may have been applied to this template by your organization:

  1. Anyone who can edit the Incident - the Author, Assigner, Responsible Person, any Collaborators, and anyone with the "Edit" or "Assign" permissions for Incidents in this Location - may escalate it, but they’re not allowed to select the Location it will go to if it can be transferred.

    That means that the escalated Incident will always go to the default Location. The standard default Location is the next highest Location on the Network, but that may have been customized by your organization as well.

  2. Anyone who can edit the Incident may escalate it; they can also select the Location it will go to if it can be transferred.

    That means that the escalated Incident will not necessarily go to the default Location.


  3. Only people who can assign the Incident - the Assigner and anyone with the "Assign" permission for Incidents in this Location - may escalate it; they can also select the Location it will go to if it can be transferred.

 

How do I escalate an Incident?

Open the Incident with which you want to work, then:

  • Click 2017-10-06_1631.png in the top right corner of the page.

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click 2017-10-06_1645.png.

..._-_Escalate.jpg

 

The options on the resulting window will vary depending on how your organization has customized this template.

  • There will always be a required "Reason for Escalation" field.

  • If the Incident could potentially be transferred, there will be a "Transfer to another Location at this time" checkbox.

    If you do not have permission to change the setting of this checkbox, it will be grayed out.

    If you do have permission to change its setting, check the box to transfer the Incident to a new Location; uncheck the box to keep the Incident in its current Location.

  • If the Incident is set to be transferred, there will be a "Choose Location(s)" field.

    If you do not have permission to choose the Location to which it should be transferred, this field will be grayed out. The Location listed there is where the Incident will be transferred.

    If you do have permission to choose the Location to which it should be transferred, add and remove Locations from this field until you're satisfied with where the Incident will go.

  • Click 2018-02-26_1403.png to finalize the escalation.

Escalate_Window__User_Picks__Default_Transfer.jpg

A message containing the list of people notified about the escalation will then be displayed and their notifications will be sent out.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request