Default Item Locations
Designate specific Locations on a user's profile that are automatically applied to their Items.
Default Item Locations let you designate specific Locations on a user's profile that are automatically applied to the Items they create or are assigned to, even if they have multiple Network Locations.
When a user has Default Item Locations configured:
- They are automatically used as the Originating Location for Items they create.
- They are automatically used as the Responsible Location for Items assigned to them.
Pro Tip: Default Item Locations only determine which Locations are applied to a user's work. They do not affect their role permissions or access to Network Locations.
Benefits
Default Item Locations are useful when users have multiple Network Locations but want their work associated with specific primary Locations.
Without Default Item Locations, a user's work will be associated with all of their Network Locations. Setting defaults gives their work consistent Locations for reporting and accountability.
Enabling Default Item Locations
Default Item Locations must be enabled by KaiNexus staff. Contact your Customer Success Manager for assistance.
Once enabled:
-
User Profiles include a Default Item Locations field that User Managers can use to set a user's defaults.
- People Lists include Default Item Location as a column option.
- Default Item Locations are supported on User Imports, People List XLSX and PDF exports, and the JSON People API.
Setting a user's Default Item Locations
Important: Only people with the User Manager permission can set a user's Default Item Locations.
User Manager (Everywhere) allows you to edit users throughout the organization. User Manager (Location & Below) limits access to users within the Locations specified in the permission configuration and limits which Locations you can assign as Default Item Locations.
To set a user's Default Item Locations:
- Depending on whether you are adding a new user or updating an existing user, Create or Edit the User to configure their profile.
- Find the Default Item Locations field below Network Locations.

- Select one or more Locations from the dropdown. Only Locations you have permission to assign are available. The selected Locations do not need to be among the user’s Network Locations, but we recommend selecting from their existing Locations.
- Select Save.
If the Default Item Locations field is left blank, all of the user's Network Locations will be used when populating Originating and Responsible Location on their Items.