1. Help Center
  2. Admin
  3. Users > User Management

Restrict Roles by User Location

When a User has multiple Roles and multiple Locations, control which Roles correspond to each of a User's Locations.

CAUTION: The "Admin" area is only accessible by administrators; only User Administrators can perform the functions detailed on this support page. 

 

It's pretty common for people to be listed in multiple Network Locations - they might be the Director of their department as well as a member of a cross-functional workgroup. But it doesn't always make sense for a person to have the same Roles and permissions within each of those Locations.

If that's the case, you can limit some of their Roles to certain Locations.

 

How do I control which Roles apply to each of a user's Locations?

PRO TIP: If you are a Global User Administrator, you can edit any user. If you are a Local User Administrator, you can only edit users in your Location(s) and below. 



Navigate to the "Users" admin page, then:

  • Hover over the user you want to edit so that it is highlighted in blue and click  to its right.

 

In the resulting window: 

  • If necessary, add Roles to the user by clicking  in the "Roles" section and selecting the appropriate Roles from the resulting drop-down menu.

  • Click  in the top right corner of the "Roles" section. NOTE: You will only see this cogwheel if the user has multiple Network Locations.

 

  • In the resulting window, each Role assigned to the user is listed along with each of the user's Locations. Checking the box at a Role/Location junction will apply that Role to that Location.



    • Click  at the top of any column to check every box in that column.

    • Click  at the top of any column to uncheck every box in that column.

    • Click  to save your changes.

  • Each Role will then be listed in the "Roles" section along with the Locations to which it applies. If a Role applies to all of the user's Locations, then it will be listed without any Locations alongside it.