Chart - Other Information

Chart History

When working with your Charts, KaiNexus will keep track of the different versions of your Charts over time so that you may refer back to a previous version at any point. You will also be able to restore your Chart to a previous version if needed.



Who can view the history of a Chart?

Only the following KaiNexus users can view the history of a Chart:

  • The Chart’s Authors.

  • The Chart’s Followers.

  • Anyone with the “View” permission for Charts in the specified Network Location(s).

  • Anyone with the “Edit” permission for Charts in the specified Network Location(s). 

 

Who can restore the history of a Chart?

Only the following KaiNexus users can view the history of a Chart:

  • The Chart’s Authors.

  • Anyone with the “Edit” permission for Charts in the specified Network Location(s). 


How to view the history of a Chart?

Open the Chart you wish to work with, then:

  • Click in the top right corner of the main panel containing the Chart.

  • In the resulting drop-down menu, click .


In the resulting window:

  • By default, the most previous version of the Chart will be displayed. In the top left corner, the date and time for this version of the Chart will also be displayed.


  • Clicking on the date and time will give a drop-down menu of the other previous versions of the Chart. (Each identified with a corresponding date and time)


  • Clicking on one of those versions will display what the Chart’s data looked like at that moment in time. 


  • You can toggle between different versions of the Chart by either selecting them from the drop-down menu or by clicking on the or to navigate back and forth, respectively.

  • To the right of the drop-down, clicking will give you the ability to restore this Chart’s data to a previous version. 

NOTE: You will only have the option to Restore the Chart to a previous version if you have permission to edit the Chart.

 

  • In the resulting window when you’re ready, click .


NOTE: If you restore your Chart to a previous version that did not contain a recently added Shared Series, Calculated Series, or Chart Annotation, then those will automatically be removed from the Chart.

 

  • Near the top right of the window, clicking the will give you the option of downloading the data within the Chart as an XLSX file. 


  • In the top right corner of the window, click to toggle to a Bowling view for the Chart.

 

  • In the top right corner of the window, click to toggle to the data table for the Chart.


  • In the top right corner of the window, click to toggle back to the main view for the Chart.

 

PRO-TIP: To access a specific version of the Chart, you can do so by clicking the in the “Timeline” panel of the Chart.




How many versions of my Chart are kept in KaiNexus?

KaiNexus will keep:

  • Every save for 14 days

  • For versions greater than 14 days old, KaiNexus will keep the latest version per day

  • For versions greater than 30 days old, KaiNexus will keep the latest version per month

  • Beyond 30 days, KaiNexus will keep the latest version per month in perpetuity