Powered by Temper

Creating a Role

To get to this page, navigate to the Admin page by clicking  on the left sidebar menu, look under the Organization heading, and click "Roles." The admin page is only accessible by administrators; only Quality Administrators can perform the functions detailed on this support page.



How do I create a new Role? 



Click  in the top right corner.

 

In the resulting window:

  • Name the Role.

  • (**Optional**) Give the Role a Default Board.

    Users assigned this Role will see that Board each time they log in unless they set a Default Board of their own.

  • (**Optional**) Add a description.

    This description will appear whenever users hover over the Role’s name. We recommend including the powers that Role allows so that people can quickly see what permissions a person with this Role holds.

  • (**Optional**) Edit the permissions for Improvements, Incidents (if the Incidents module is activated for your organization), Projects, Charts, and Admin (see below for more information).

  • Click  to create the Role.


Improvement Permissions
 
To grant a permission, select the corresponding checkbox.

  • View New & Assign
    Permission to view other people’s new Improvements and assign Improvements the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • View New
    Permission to view other people's new Improvements within the selected Location(s).

  • View
    Permission to view other users’ public Improvements within the selected Location(s) that are not in the new status.

  • View Private
    Permission to view other users' private Improvements within the selected Location(s).

  • Edit
    Permission to edit Improvements the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • Honor Roll
    Permission to add Honor Roll to Improvements the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • Toggle Private
    Permission to toggle the private/public state of Improvements within the selected Location(s).

  • Delete
    Permission to delete Improvements the user can access within the selected Location(s).

 

Incident Permissions (if the Incident Add-On is active in your organization)

NOTE: Your organization must have the Incident Add-On for you to see this section.

To grant a permission, select the corresponding checkbox.

  • View New & Assign
    Permission to view other people’s new Incidents and assign Incidents the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • View New
    Permission to view other people's new Incidents within the selected Location(s).

  • View
    Permission to view other users’ public Incidents within the selected Location(s) that are not in the new status.

  • View Private
    Permission to view other users’ private Incidents within selected Location(s).

  • Edit
    Permission to edit Incidents the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • Honor Roll
    Permission to add Honor Roll to Incidents the user can access within the selected Location(s).

  • Toggle Private
    Permission to toggle the private/public state of Incidents within the selected Location(s).Permission to create Private Improvements within the selected Location(s).

  • Delete
    Permission to delete Incidents the user can access within the selected Location(s).

 

Project Permissions

  • View
    Permission to view other users’ public Projects within the selected Location(s).

  • View Private
    Permission to view other users’ private Projects within selected Location(s).

  • Administrator
    Permission to edit all Projects that the user can access.

Chart Permissions

  • View
    Permission to view other users’ public Charts within the selected Location(s).

  • View Private
    Permission to view other users’ private Charts within selected Location(s).

  • Administrator
    Permission to edit all Charts in the organization.

Once you select a permission, you will be asked about where the permission should apply. Select the appropriate location from the dropdown menu.

  • Everywhere
    The permission will apply to items in every Location of the organization.

    This is best for executives or improvement leaders who need to monitor and lead improvement work throughout the entire organization.

  • User’s Location & Below
    The permission will apply to items in the user's own Location, as well as the Locations under it.

    This is best for users who need to monitor and lead improvement in their area and below, but not at levels above their own or in another branch of the organization's hierarchy.

  • User’s Location Only 
    The permission will apply to items in the user's own Location.

    This is best for users who only need to monitor and lead work done in their own unit or Location.

  • Only User’s
    This permission will apply only to the user’s own work.

    This is best for users who are trained to manage their own items.


Report Permissions

  • View
    Permission to view the Reports area. Impact data from the Snapshot and the Impact Reports will not be visible. Users with only this permission will not be able to view the aggregate impact of Projects or Improvements.

  • View Impact
    Permission to view the impact of Improvements and Projects.

 

Admin Permissions

  • Global Board Administrator
    Permission to create and edit public Boards.

  • Restricted Board Administrator

    Permission to edit Board for which the user is an Owner.

  • Local User Administrator
    Permission to manage the organization's users in their Location and below. People with this permission can only assign users to their own Location(s) or one nested beneath them.

  • Global User Administrator
    Permission to manage the organization’s users (in any Location), Titles, Positions, Employee Types, and Certifications.

  • Global Badge Administrator
    Permission to grant and revoke manually grantable Badges. People given this permission must also be a Local or Global User Administrator to be able to access users' profiles and grant or remove their Badges.

  • Quality Administrator
    Permission to manage the organization’s Network, Level Types, Roles, and Improvement/Project Attributes.

  • System Administrator
    Permission to view and manage everything in the System section of the Admin page.
     

Pro Tips

After choosing either of the User Administrator permissions:

  1. Check the box next to "Receive Requests" to have people assigned this Role be responsible for handling new account requests, settings users' passwords, and helping users reset their passwords and activate their accounts. This is best for Global User Administrators.

  2. Check the box next to "Grantable Roles" to give people assigned this Role permission to edit users' Roles. You can limit which Roles they can assign by adding those Roles to the "Grantable Roles" field. If you do not check this box, these people will not be able to change a user's Role(s) when editing that user.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request