Powered by Temper

Editing users

To get to this page, just navigate to the Admin page by clicking   on the left sidebar menu, look under the Users heading, and click "Users." This admin page is only accessible by administrators; only User Administrators can perform the functions detailed on this support page. 

 

How do I edit a user?


 

To edit an existing user’s information, hover over their name on the user list so that it is highlighted blue and click   on the right.

 


In the resulting window, you can edit any of the User’s information, including their:



  • Username (*required*)
    Many of our customers assign usernames to their users that match either their email, employee ID number, or their username from their work computers. Any of these are great usernames because they’re easy for users to remember, but you can use any convention you want for coming up with usernames. Remember, usernames must be unique.


  • Email
    It is highly recommended that, when possible, each account have an associated email address. This makes using KaiNexus much easier for the average user, ensuring that they receive all important notifications about their account and improvement work.

    If you include an email address, upon activating their account, the user will receive an email containing instructions on how to finalize the activation of their account, choose a password, and log in for the first time. If you do not include an email, it’s your responsibility to activate the account and inform the user about their password and how to log into KaiNexus.


  • First and Last Name (*required*)


  • Mobile Phone, Work Phone, and/or Pager numbers


  • Physical Location
    This is the user’s physical location. For example, if your organization has several buildings, you would put the name of the user’s building (and perhaps the floor) in this field.

     
  • Employee ID


  • Titles

    A user can have as many Titles, or degrees, as applicable.

    To add a Title, click  on the right side of that field and choose from the drop-down menu.

    Click   next to a title to remove it from the user’s profile.



  • Positions

    A user can be assigned as many Positions, or job functions, as applicable.

    To add a Position, click  on the right side of that field and choose from the drop-down menu.

    Click  next to a Position to remove it from the user’s profile.


  • Employee Type

    A user can be assigned as many Employment Types, or attributes describing the terms of their employment, as applicable.

    To add an Employee Type, click on the right side of that field and choose from the drop-down menu.

    Click next to an Employee Type to remove it from the user’s profile.


  • Certifications

    A user can be assigned as many Certifications, or confirmations of the employee’s qualifications or education, as applicable.

    To add a Certification, click on the right side of that field and choose from the drop-down menu.


    Click next to a Certification to remove it from the user’s profile.


  • Badges
    If you are a Global Badge Administrator, and your organization has manually grantable Badges configure, you can grant the user any of those Badges.


  • Network Location


    The Network represents your organization’s unique structure, or hierarchy, using a combination of Levels and Level Types. By organizing employees into neat groups and assigning them Roles, the organization has ensured that employees are notified about improvement work that pertains to them.

    A user can be assigned to as many Network Locations as applicable so that they can be kept in the loop about work being done in every part of the organization with which they are involved.

    To add a Network Location, click on the right side of that field and choose from the drop-down menu. You can use the search bar to quickly find the correct locations, or you can just scroll through the list to find them.


    Click next to a Network Location to remove it from the user’s profile.



  • Roles



    A Role is a category of users who share certain powers and permissions. Every user can be assigned as many Roles as appropriate. A user’s Role determines their default notification settings as well as their powers and permissions within KaiNexus.

    To add a Role, click on the right side of that field and choose from the drop-down menu. You can use the search bar to quickly find the correct roles, or you can just scroll through the list to find them.

    Click next to a Role to remove it from the user’s profile.

 

 

How do I edit multiple users at once?

 

  1. Click the checkbox next to the name of every user you want to edit.

  2. Click in the top right corner of the page. NOTE: This button will not appear until you signify that you have chosen at least one user with a check mark.

  3. Select either "Change Status," "Change Location(s)," "Change Role(s)," or "Send Activation Email."

 

Change Status:



  • Select a new status for the selected user(s).

    NOTE: If changing to their status to active, users who have never activated their account will be sent an activation email.

 

Change Location(s):



  • Select the type of change - decide if you want to replace the selected users’ existing location(s) with new locations or add to their existing locations.

  • Select the new location(s).

 

Change Role(s):



  • Select the type of change - decide if you want to replace the selected users’ existing Role(s) with the new Roles, add to their existing Roles, or clear all of their existing Roles.

  • Select the new Role(s)

 

Send Activation Email



All selected users will receive an activation email if:

  • They have an email address associated with their KaiNexus account,

  • And have not yet activated their account.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request