Powered by Temper

Level Types

 To get to this page, navigate to the Admin page by clicking  on the left sidebar menu, look under the Organization heading, and click "Level Types." The admin page is only accessible by administrators; only Quality Administrators can perform the functions detailed on this support page. 

 

What is a Level Type?

Network Locations are groups of users, work units, or levels in an organization, while a Level Type is a means of categorizing those Locations.

Some common examples of Level Types include departments, work groups, divisions, and factories.

 

How do I create a new Level Type?




To create a new Level Type, click  in the top right corner.

In the resulting window:


 

  • Enter the name of this Level Type

    NOTE: Your organization cannot have multiple Level Types with the same name.

  • Pick an icon to represent this Level Type

    You’re welcome to reuse an icon for multiple Level Types, but we recommend assigning different colors for each instance of that icon to make scanning a list of Level Types easier.

  • Select a color to represent this Level Type.

When you're satisfied with this Level Type, click  to create it.

 

How do I edit a Level Type?

  • Hover over it so that it’s highlighted blue.


  • Click  on the right.

 

In the resulting window, you can:



 

  • Enter the name of this Level Type

    NOTE: Your organization cannot have multiple Level Types with the same name.

  • Pick an icon to represent this Level Type

    You’re welcome to reuse an icon for multiple Level Types, but we recommend assigning different colors for each instance of that icon to make scanning a list of Level Types easier.

  • Select a color to represent this Level Type.

When you're satisfied with this Level Type, click  to create it.

                                                     
       

What happens to the Network if I delete a Level Type?

If you delete a Level Type that has never been assigned to a Network Location, there will be no effect on your organization’s Network.

But what happens to a Location if you delete its Level Type? The Location will remain in place in the Network, with no impact on the users, Improvements, Projects, or Tasks affiliated with it. The only effect will be that that Location will lose its distinguishing icon. You can, of course, select a new Level Type for any affected Locations.

 

How do I delete a Level Type?

  • Hover over it so that it’s highlighted blue.


  • Click  on the right.

  • Click .

 


Ordering Level Types

Whenever you see a list of Network Locations in KaiNexus - such as the Network admin page, the Location picker in the Reports section, etc. - they are arranged according to their Level Type. If you want to control the order in which these Level Types are displayed - such as putting the broadest groups first and the smaller teams last - you will need to order them on the Level Types admin page.

To do so:

  • Click and hold the Level Type you want to move.

  • Drag and drop it in the desired position on the list of Level Types.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request